Random Friday


I’m in Torino, attending the annual comicon, so I’m scheduling this long before it goes live… I didn’t have time to watch any new movies before getting on my train yesterday afternoon, so I’m just going to comment on this article about Bollywood’s hit&misses remakes. I have seen 3 remakes and 2 originals of this list.

So, starting from the top – mm, can someone please explain to me how 2 years become “a decade ago” in India? Time really flies over there! 😉 The remake of Agneepath, which I have seen, is from 2012… And I might watch the original one day, although, since the other 2 originals I’ve seen (bottom of the list: Sholay and Zanjeer) I tend to mix them and can’t tell one from the other… maybe not. I guess I like the “new” Bollywood, from the 1990s on! 😉

Devdas is another one of my favorites (and it’s from a decade ago – actually, 12 years, haha) and I’m wary of trying a 1955 original (although I could have done it for research purposes if Kol-ian had stayed in India also in 1955 – except he was gone at the end of 1954, LOL). Unless somebody tells me it’s unmissable, I’ll stick to Ash and SRK and Madhouri! 😉

Don… not sure. I have both the remake and its sequel, but what I said for Agneepath is valid for Don as well. I mean, I like Karan Johar and Farhan Akhtar works, but older stuff? Not so sure. By the way, I’m bringing Rock on!! to Turin and see if my musical friends over there like listening to rock in Hindi! 😉

So, that’s my humble opinion – until my next Bollywood batch (probably this summer when I go to Loncon)… Have a great weekend! 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

