Writer Wednesday


As I trudge through more Amazons stories for the next anthology, there isn’t much going on. I’m considering giving away a free story to whoever subscribes to the New Releases newsletter (widget in the sidebar) – a PDF that will be attached to the first one. It won’t be sent out for Amazon Spring, though, since at the moment I have only one subscriber! 😉

I have updated the blurb for Amazon Spring:

A collection of stories set in the Queendom of Maadre a.k.a. Amazons Country. From the death of Queen Amazonia to shorter stories, meet the only country on Silvery Earth where women rule and men have no voice and no rights. Reprint of “The Death of Queen Amazonia”, “The Slave” (included in Tales of the Southern Kingdoms Volume 1) and Doreen (included in Books of the Immortal – Prequels). The dawn of the Queendom.

New story: The Public Man – or male prostitutes in the Queendom! Leone thinks he has the best job in the country – until he realizes not everybody likes Public Men…

It’s already available for pre-order on Kobo and soon will be on the other retailers as well. I uploaded it to D2D in the hope that next week it will be available at Apple along with the other retailers… I will upload to KDP and Smashwords on Sunday when I come back from Torino Comics.

Anyhow, a few links this week. David Farland on Luck, Work, Intelligence, Taste, Talent, Timing – which goes well with Dawn Copeman’s Quality or Quantity. I’m still prolific, but I’ve slowed down a bit, since I’m writing more new stories and less rewrites/translations. Still have a lot of titles out, and obviously I don’t write for traditional markets (yes, two more rejections this year) but I’ll keep submitting the short stories before publishing them.

In case you missed it, last week Kris Rusch had TWO business posts, a surprise Tuesday and the usual business Thursday. I guess being published in a magazine is a good discoverability stunt, although it would make me uneligible to participate to more Writers of the Future… But considering how long the contest keeps the story blocked, well, I’d rather submit to markets with quicker turnaround (Clarkesworld is unbeatable!), so I won’t send the contest another story this year.

If next year I’m still “unpublished”, we’ll see! I already know what I’m going to write for Crossed Genres, the July theme… based on the review of Saif’s Legacy by dear beta! *waves at Bookwatcher* Get ready for Kilig’s training!! 🙂

More links: Colleen Doran on Lies, Blacklists and other Handicaps. Might happen to writers as much as artists, so have a look. The only blacklist I know of is Hollywood’s Blacklist, and that doesn’t mean the screenplays that end there will never ever get made – although it might take years (any reference to Passengers is absolutely correct – blacklisted in 2007, it’s still in progress…).

David Gaughran on pricing e-books. I’ve long since made up my mind on pricing, and if I don’t ask more than 5bucks it’s because my books are short. In fact Star Minds the complete series is 9.99$ because it’s a much longer work that includes 3 books… So I agree with David that $4.99 is best for my full-length books – be they anthologies (that sometimes read like novels) or novels. As for “first in the series free” – I don’t have a real first in a series (unless I make Technological Angel permanently free), so I’ll keep doing some 99cents shorts to intruduce to Silvery Earth for those who don’t want to waste 5bucks on an untried author! 😉

Finally, Joe Konrath about Tracy Hickman and the man’s response. I remember reading the Dragonlance trilogy and the Twins trilogy Tracy wrote with Margaret Weiss, but I admit I lost track of him since. The Twins trilogy was the first book I read in English (at the end of last century), and I still think I should re-read it now that my English has improved – I remember I had to check the dictionary because I couldn’t figure out what a “gully dwarf” was, since I had read the Dragonlance trilogy in Italian! 😉 I had heard Tracy Hickman did a serial on his site, that’s why at first – reading Joe Konrath’s post – I thought “what’s going on?” Another internet meme or misquote…

Anyway, that’s all for today! Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

