Random Friday


Whops, Friday already! Didn’t have time to watch movies between writing and beta-reading, but yesterday I was not busy at DayJob, so I brought some drawings to spend the lonely morning. Well, I also wrote a little, but mostly did the following.

When I finish SKYBAND (I swear I’ll finish it, hopefully this year, only 2 more chapters – 44 pages to go), instead of starting a new graphic novel, I’m thinking about a “collectors edition” of some of my shorter works (novella-length). Illustrated book for adults – my dream! 🙂 So I’m doing some attempts – the first ones I did are with an unpublished work under submission, so I can’t show them here. So yesterday afternoon I quickly did this to show you what I have in mind.

prova3_resizeIt’s from The Death of Queen Amazonia, since we’re talking about that in the previous post, and since I have a colored drawing for that story. That’s supposed to be the beginning of a chapter or a new scene (if it’s a new scene, I’ll have the big letter and the first 2-3 words in that gothic font and the reast in TNR), but then throughout the whole text there should be illustrations or vignettes like in old manuscripts. Take a look at the Getty collection for an idea of what I mean. Although I’ll have a more modern font for most of the text, since the gothic ones are unreadable after some time.

This could be a hardback – Collectors Edition, like I said above – and a tribute to dead-tree books. There will still be an e-book version, but for people who like illustrated stories and art books, this will be special. I don’t know yet which titles I’ll do this way, and if I’ll be able to find a publisher or an illustrator to work with me. Maybe I’ll do a Kickstarter project for it! 😀

And then, since I was thinking about a friend who put only 5 chakra in her story and went to the Wikipedia page for chakra (the Italian one, sorry, scroll down to see what I mean… the English one has different images…), I came up with his “tiles” or pattern with invented mantras (I mean, 3 are copied from Wikipedia, but the 4th is invented) – Shafali please refrain on commenting on my devanagari transcriptions, thank you! 🙂 It’s supposed to be Silvery Earth, not India! 😀

chakras_resizeSo I’m going to color this and use it either as a pattern or I don’t know. Maybe I could even use it in the frame above (on the sides, where there’s a blue pattern at the moment). I have already cut it so I can use it as a pattern, but I didn’t have time to color it. I’m posting it just to let you know how I spent the morning! 🙂

By the way, DeviantART says it has a software that reads your mind and paints accordingly… Here’s what my first attempt was like (and I wasn’t really concentrating on it, since I was chatting on Facebook at the same time, LOL!), and the second… I’m bad at drawing animals, but I can do better than that! Haven’t done a third attempt yet – maybe never will! 😉 I can tell you that thing can’t read my mind – or if that’s my subconscious mind at work, gee! I’m worse off than what I thought! 😦

Not much else to say at the moment, but hopefully next Friday I can do another “movie day”. In the meantime, have a wonderful weekend! 😀

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

