Writer Wednesday


Okay, today I have plenty of writerly updates, so I’ll delight you with my ramblings. First, I sent my submission to Fantasy Magazine. If it gets rejected, I’ll submit it to Wyrd Worlds II. If you write SFF, you might want to contribute a piece too – check Wyrd Worlds I (it’s free) and here are the guidelines for Wyrd Worlds II.

I also entered my novelette in Writers of the Future, but results for this quarter will come out in June/July, so you won’t read it before the end of July. End of written stuff – that’s the only two works in English completed this year so far, and since they’re shorter than average, I’m trying submission to traditional magazines first. Just in case, I might be nominated for a Hugo next year, LOL!

I’m in full writing mood now, so here’s the latest. First, I want to thank Da Muses, who do drive me crazy in real life (as if I ever met any of them, LOL!), but they gave me that sparkling idea for the new body switch. So that’s what I’m going to write next, B.G. Hope’s third body switch.

In the meantime, I’m back on Silvery Earth, more precisely the Queendom of Maadre for an Amazons story that will be included in Amazon Summer – book 2 of the stories of the Queendom of Maadre. I “recycled” two short stories I wrote last century (bone) and I’m now putting the meat on it as I get back into the (new) story.

I’m saying this realizing how my writing routine has changed in 30+ years. First drafts of new stories are still quite improvised, but when I translate/rewrite (a.k.a. recycle) old stories, it’s a different process now. This particular story (underwent a couple of title changes already, so I won’t name it yet) springs from a summary dated 1987, written in 1991 as a fairly longer outline with lot of telling to which I have added a prequel about Miria (princess of the Amazons who ends up marrying the Varian Emperor in CVE3) that I won’t use in Amazon Winter (where I’ll keep another short story about her youth).

So I had to mix two different stories with different casts and make up a new virtual cast for myself before actually being able to work on this. Only at that point did the characters start talking to me and the story is now developing fine. But instead of writing in chronological order, I’m throwing in the new scenes as they come – which means when I’m done I’ll have to carefully reread a probably messy first draft for continuity. But that’s the beauty of creation, so I’m not complaining!

So that’s all for this week. Just keep writing, and remember: No One Knows, like Joe Konrath rightfully pointed out!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow, you’re on a roll! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    • 😀 When I have fears that I may cease to be… (John Keats’ poem is still valid, LOL!) 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

