Writer Wednesday


I’ve come to the conclusion that there must be at least two kinds of writers: the wordsmith and the storyteller. Of course there are more than these two and all the in-between, but let’s have a look at these two sort of extremes.

The Wordsmith agonizes over a word, a sentence, even a comma and keeps rewriting to death. One short story might take months, one novel takes years. Some of them never finish anything because it doesn’t “sound” perfect. They love words and language, and probably write literary fiction or a lot of purple prose.

The Storyteller only wants to tell a story. Characters talk in her head and she needs to capture their deeds as fast as possible. The storyteller is probably more prolific, because she has so many stories to tell, she can’t linger on any for long – the next shiny new idea knocks at her door and she lets go of the “old” ones. The storyteller probably writes genre (like SFF) fiction, because she loves to make up stuff.

118Which kind of writer are you? You probably guessed that I’m the latter by now. Now that I’m finished with translations for at least this month (yay!), I have popcorn kittens bouncing in my head trying to get my attention. I’ll translate Male Lovers in May, but then that’s all for this year. I might have a few more translated/rewritten stories, since my Amazons stories are all quite old, but then I’m totally free to write new stuff.

So this week I’m mulling over a couple of “prequels” to Saif’s Legacy, whether I’ll submit them to Fantasy Magazine or not, that’s another story. The call for submissions set my mind in motion and I already have two ideas to develop. Never mind that what I wrote on Monday will be stuck in a drawer as I came up with another better idea for that story. Today I’m writing it and probably also the other that sprang to mind, and then I’ll decide if and which to submit.

I’ve also given The Hooded Man to an editor so I can check it one last time before submitting it to Writers of the Future. Yes, I’m obviously in submission mode this year! 🙂 I submitted two Snippets last year as well, and was rejected, but as you can see, it didn’t deter me from trying. Especially knowing that even if I am rejected by those editors, I can still publish the stories and find readers.

Oh, and there will be Wyrd Worlds 2! Look for it sometimes in September, like last year… I don’t know yet what I will submit this time, but I will submit something again. We have new authors onboard, and hopefully whoever makes it to Loncon (ahem) might do a panel about it in August, even if the new volume is not out yet! Submission for that aren’t open yet, but you can always join the Goodreads group and wait for them in the Wyrd Worlds thread

Now I’m going to grab that other story bundle, hoping at some point my TBR pile/list will go down… sigh! How can one pass such great authors (some I’ve never read but heard a lot about)? Besides, I’m using mostly the royalties from Draft2Digital to pay for this… and maybe one day I’ll submit one of mine to be bundled with others – whenever I can chose one, LOL! Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. My writing style is very introspective, like the rest of my personality. I have lots of ideas bouncing around in my head, but they have to form an orderly queue before they are allowed out onto the paper. It’s important to me also that what I write is already good – I simply can’t ‘just write’ and tidy up later. Perhaps that is a fault.

    Like

    Reply
    • no, Frank, it’s not a fault, it’s your way! 🙂 Especially after years of doing it, whatever comes out in the first draft is good, if not excellent. Problem with those ethernal rewriters is they don’t finish anything, so they never get better or faster. If you write consistently, you learn to be good and fast.
      I was a one-draft writer before finding feedback. Now I am a 2-maximum-3-drafts writer. I “just write” the first draft, “polish” it (since there might be plot holes or things that change while writing – it’s good to improvise, but then you need to go through the whole thing again to make sure you don’t leave any big mistakes) and send it out. I revise after feedback and send to editor. Final revision before submission/publishing…
      And like you, I need to harness those bouncing kittens before putting them on paper – I have for the new millennium at least (Technological Angel was the first that I mulled over for month before the actual writing. But it still has 5 or 7 drafts because I changed, gave back to betas, changed again… not anymore, LOL)! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Great post. I think I am definately a, ‘Storyteller’. I think that’s why novella length suits my writing, as I can get stories out quicker, but with enough depth still 😀

    Like

    Reply
    • Glad I’m not the only one who can’t, for the life of her, write a 100k+ novel! 😉 Yes, Star Minds the complete series is 120K, but it’s 3 novels (50k+30k+30k approx)! 😀 And I do write SFF… just not of the “epic” kind! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

