Sunday Surprise


And it’s a guest! And Author of the Month at Smashwords Authors Group on Goodreads, so if you have a question not answered here, go ask it in the thread (or you can leave a comment, I’m sure Rita will drop by to answer!)! I’m honored to have her… ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Rita Lee Chapman!

Where do you live and write from?

I live in Australia, in Queensland, in a beautiful spot close to beaches, rivers and lakes.

When did you start writing?

I didn’t finish my first book until I retired to Queensland. I wrote long stories in primary school and started a couple of books over the years but never found time to finish them. I think Amazon was the catalyst –now that you can self-publish you know that you can see your work in print.

Missing_in_Egypt_CoverWhat genre(s) do you write?

Missing in Egypt is a romantic travel mystery and Winston – A Horse’s Tale is for horse lovers from teenagers upwards.

Missing in Egypt is about an Australian working for a Member of Parliament who falls in love with a constituent. She travels to Egypt with him to look for his brother, who has disappeared whilst on holiday. It contains vivid descriptions of Egyptian sites and temples.

Winston – A Horse’s Tale is told by Winston himself and tells of his life in Australia and the different people and horses he meets along the way.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

Interesting question. I guess there is often some part of yourself in your story somewhere, even if it is only a tiny part.

Do you have a specific writing routine?

No. I fit it in where I can – even though I’m retired, I always seem to be busy. I tend to do better when it’s raining.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I’d love to have a clear outline when I start to write but I’d have to say the story develops as I go along. I’m a fast writer when I know where I’m going.

Winston_-_A_Horse's__CoverTell us about your latest book

Winston is a good-looking palomino horse whose life involves several different owners and many adventures. As you read his story, told by Winston himself, you will appreciate horse ownership from the horse’s point of view. Born on a country property in Australia, Winston tells of his breaking-in and education and the different people he encounters – good, bad and ignorant. As well as his own story, Winston includes the experiences of other horses he meets along life’s way.

Whether it’s jumping, eventing, hunting or just hacking, Winston tries hard to please his rider. Follow his successes and his failures from his breaking-in to his show jumping win. It is an eventful life – the story of one Australian horse out of thousands, but one that you will remember!

Amazon

Smashwords

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

I’m an Indie publisher, mainly because I had rejections from traditional publishers. However, I find I do like having control over all aspects of my writing.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

Yes, I’ve started on my third book, a crime mystery and I’d like to do a second book on the Missing in Egypt theme.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

Just finishing my first book was my main goal and to see it in print was a huge buzz. I’d like my books to be better known and I work hard to promote them but there are so many books out there! I guess my current goal is to write a better book!

I have a Guest Author page on my website where I host a different author each week. If any of your readers would like to be featured they can contact me through the site at www.ritaleechapman.com

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALinks for Missing in Egypt:

Amazon

Smashwords

LARGE PRINT EDITION

Website: www.ritaleechapman.com

Smashwords author interview

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on Library of Erana and commented:
    Smashwords author of the month for March.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

