Sunday Surprise


And it’s a guest! Like I mentioned, I started the reading year with a new author and read both her books in a little over a week. She was kind enough to answer to my writerly questions… Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Vidya Samson!

Where do you live and write from?

Pit of Hell. Also known as India.

Not as bad as Italy, trust me. When did you start writing?

I honestly don’t remember because I was so young. I think it was when I was 8 or 9, but I might have been even younger. My brother and I invented a set of characters and wrote stories about them for each other.

Cool! I had a shared world with my siblings too – but didn’t write anything down until my teens! What genre(s) do you write?

As a child, I wrote children’s stories. Then I got hooked on Agatha Christie and started writing mysteries and whodunits. Now I write mainly humor and romance.

And you’re great at that! Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I think all writers put something of themselves in their stories. For my stories set in India, Indian culture and the people around me are the biggest inspiration.

Do you have a specific writing routine?

No, I write whenever I have the time.

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

I’m a slow writer who works for a long time on every scene to make it as good as possible.

Tell us about your latest book

My latest book is a clash-of-cultures comedy about a traditional family in India whose lives are turned upside down when their American relatives come to visit. It can be found here (Amazon.com link)

And it’s a great read. If I still did reviews, I’d give it 5stars. Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

Indie publishing, mainly because I have control over my books and can get a much higher royalty rate for them. I am currently writing a YA paranormal romance titled MY DEADLY PRINCE CHARMING. I am going to self e-publish it on Amazon because I want control over the e-book rights. But if it does well as an e-book, I will try to get a traditional publisher for the print version. While I would prefer to query publishers directly, I read a thread on the Kindleboards detailing the things agents can do for us, including pushing for bigger advances from publishers, and getting a much better deal when selling film and foreign rights.

Agents are gong the way of the Dodo, and will snatch 15% of your earnings forever. I wouldn’t do it, if I were you. Any other projects in the pipeline?

I have a couple of romance series planned other than my YA paranormal romance one. One is an adult paranormal romance series while the other is a romantic thriller series.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

My goal: world domination. I want to be one of the best known writers of both romance and humor, with the name recognition of romance writers such as Stephenie Meyers and Nora Roberts and humor writers such as David Sedaris. To achieve that goal, for now I’m just writing the best books I can write.

And you’re doing a great job, so keep writing!

Vidya Samson’s blog

Vidya Samson on Goodreads

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

