Sunday Surprise – Tim Flanagan


Since I’ve already interviewed him, but he has a new book out, here’s everything you need to know about his latest “baby”. AND there’s a short story as well! Welcome back, Tim Flanagan! 🙂

The Curious Disappearance of Professor Brown, or The Pumpkins of Doom.

A Lawrence Pinkley Mystery

By Tim Flanagan

with illustrations by Dylan Gibson

timEighteen year old Lawrence Pinkley is Whitby’s greatest Private Detective. In fact, he’s Whitby’s only Private Detective.

Pinkley’s skills are called into play in the first case of a reluctant career.

One night, in a high security laboratory, a scientist mysteriously disappears, leaving behind an overly nervous assistant and a trail of pumpkin juice. Pinkley is hired to investigate the disappearance by the professor’s beautiful daughter, forcing him to quickly learn the skills he needs to solve his first major crime.

But every move Pinkley makes is being watched.

As he blunders from one clue to the next he stumbles across secret messages, talking pumpkins, the Russian mafia, and hired hitmen. His life now depends on him solving the case. Not to mention the future of mankind!

Publication date : 15 November 2013

Available on Amazon Kindle  $2.99 / £2.99 and full colour paperback  $25.96 / £14.99

Tim Flanagan Profile Info

At some point in Tim’s childhood, he was abducted by aliens and sent on a voyage of knowledge and discovery across the universe. Eventually the aliens realised how pointless this was and, as a failed student, he was returned to Earth and left with a family who brought him up as a human bean. But, the persistent memories of new worlds, dragons and other creatures, continued to knock at his frontal lobe, desperately trying to break out.

To avoid making a mess and calm his imagination, Tim began writing as a way to communicate with Earthlings. Fuelled by Chilli and Nachos and a bottle of wine, Tim manages to balance a love of loud rock music and fast cars (preferably red!) with emotional chic flicks, smart leather shoes and a well tailored suit. He has successfully infiltrated the humans and hides behind the façade known as a family. He learns from his children, but is regularly told to stop acting like a child by his wife.

Naturally shy and unsociable by nature, he is selective of the human company he keeps, preferring to be around old books, bonsai and art. He cries at ‘It’s a wonderful life’ but sulks if fed evil vegetables disguised as Parsnips or Peas. He is bored by mundane conversation, excited by architecture and castles and fuelled by Caramel Latte Macchiato’s.

Occasionally, he likes to catch up with old acquaintances on Tatooine, Westeros, and Middle Earth, and stare at fantasy and concept art as if it is a window to his childhood adventures. He is always trying to learn lessons from the masters; Mr Charles Darwin and Mr Lionel Ritchie, about life and love. Tim’s galactic mission is to translate his brain activity into a language that inspires and entertains you, transports you to different worlds and grants you an audience with the characters you have dreamt about, but never dared to remember. All of this in an attempt to redeem himself with his childhood alien abductors and travel the stars once more.

Bibliography

The Moon Stealers and the Quest for the Silver Bough (Book 1)

The Moon Stealers and the Queen of the Underworld (Book 2)

The Moon Stealers and the Everlasting Night (Book 3)

Book 4 coming out end 2013

The Curious Disappearance of Professor Brown

Links

My blog is the best place to get an insight into my mind. There are various posts and videos that have nothing to do with writing, sometimes just things that made me laugh or made me think.

http://www.timflanaganauthor.wordpress.com

Social Media

Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/timflanaganbooks

Twitter : http://www.twitter.com/timflanauthor

Google+ : http://www.google.com/+TimFlanaganAuthor

Join my mailing list. I don’t do spam so will only contact you when I have a new book release.

Links to books:

The Moon Stealers and the Quest for the Silver Bough (Book 1)

The Moon Stealers and the Queen of the Underworld (Book 2)

The Moon Stealers and the Everlasting Night (Book 3)

The Curious Disappearance of Professor Brown ebook and print.

And now… the short story! 🙂

The Mystery of the Purple Christmas Goose –
A Lawrence Pinkley Mystery

The highlight in Whitby’s social calendar was the annual Christmas market. Local traders dressed up as characters from the books of Charles Dickens, drank too much mulled wine and said ‘by jove’ far too often. The snow covered street down to the harbour was lined with stalls, whilst barrows sold steaming hot meat sandwiches and pies.
I left my Detective Agency and strolled towards Healthcliffe Ablett’s prize winning goose stall, but as I approached I saw an angry looking Ablett poking a rival poultry farmer in the chest.
‘This is your doing!’ he shouted. ‘You knew I would win the rosette for best bird again.’
‘I’ve been on my stall all day!’ responded Peter Tweedy.
‘You,’ said Mr Ablett upon seeing me. ‘You’re a detective – prove this scoundrel defaced my prize winning goose.’
I stepped nervously forward, conscious of everyone watching. In a cage at the side of the stall was a goose covered in purple liquid.
I bent down and looked at the goose, instantly aware of a strange fruity smell. I dipped my finger into the purple liquid, sniffed it then touched the end of my tongue. Blackcurrant juice. I looked up at Mr Ablett’s table – directly above the bird cage and hidden behind some country cider was an empty bottle of blackcurrant.
‘The bird’s covered in blackcurrant juice,’ I announced. ‘The bottle must have fallen over and tipped onto it.’
As I examined the bottle I was surprised to find that the top was still screwed tightly on, whilst near the base was a small hole in the plastic.
Floating on top of what remained inside the bottle was a white flake of wax.
Bored that nothing interesting was going to happen, the crowd instantly dispersed. On the table where the bottle had stood I could see a ring of white melted wax.
Why would wax be inside the bottle as well as around the base? I thought to myself. For it to get inside it would have to go through the small hole. Or, maybe it was already in the hole? What if it had been used to block up the hole?
I could feel heat coming from the chestnut stall next to Ablett’s stand. If the wax had plugged the hole in the bottle, the heat coming from the neighbouring stall could have been enough to soften it and allow the blackcurrant to drain freely out of the bottle. It seemed that Mr Ablett’s goose had been intentionally, but cleverly, ruined.
With the argument forgotten, Mr Ablett carried the bird into a nearby hairdressers to shampoo it back to its former glory.
Mr Tweedy walked over to the chestnut seller and suspiciously stuffed a handful of banknotes into his hand before turning to me. ‘Will you be looking for a goose for your Christmas table?’
‘Yes,’ I replied, wondering if he had anything to do with the waxy plug.
He put his arm around my shoulders and walked me over to his stall.
‘Choose your goose. I don’t want any money for it! My way of saying thank you for stopping that old fool from making a scene.’
Although I still had my suspicions, Mr Tweedy was right; I had spared the town an embarrassing event that would have spoiled the Christmas market.
I chose a prepared bird that looked far more appealing than a blackcurrant marinated goose, and began to leave. As I did so, I noticed a book poking out from Mr Tweedy’s waistcoat pocket: Dodgy & Crook’s, 437 Ways To Knobble The Competition.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hi Barb – thanks so much for including this short story on your blog. Hope your readers enjoyed it. PS – i liked the snow falling effect on your page – very festive!

    Like

    Reply
    • the snow is courtesy of WordPress from Dec.1 to Jan.something… I change the theme, since the white background doesn’t go well with the falling flakes, I’ll be back to the old one in January! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

