Writer Wednesday


SMSDwomen_resizeAnd I managed to upload a new title, but since I did it yesterday afternoon, the only live link at the moment are Kindle and Smashwords. Stay tuned for more e-retailers. This is the second “excerpt” from Star Minds Snippets that will come out in full next month. So, after Mind Control, here’s Women, with a cover by excellent Silvano Beltramo.

This focuses on Mya and Maela – for the two people who read Star Minds, that is (or at least have been following this blog since last December, when I interviewed all the main characters). Since both stories start almost at the same time, and both deal with female protagonists, I thought I’d bundle them together! 😉

I uploaded the bundle to Smashwords, Kindle, Kobo and Draft2Digital as usual, in spite of the Kobo/WHSmith/D2D controversy. At this time BoI-Prequels is unavailabe on Kobo, since it’s a free title I’ve sent through D2D. It seems it’s affecting only the Kobo UK store – and D2D-distributed titles.

For more on this story, here’s a good summary. Or you can check the discussion I started on Goodreads (thanks Mr Rodent for jumping in! 😉 It does indeed sound like the Paypal/Smashwords controversy…). D2D sent an update that they still don’t know when the titles they distribute will be back, and KWL said it’s working for us (I posted their email on the GR discussion). Here’s also David Gaughran’s – our man in the UK – analysis of the mishap/abuse/whatever you want to call it. I see the Kobo Italian store only – and the D2D title is “not found”.

Life is hard for indies! Especially when loved ones don’t support – or at least understand – your writing career. I’m with Michelle, here. I don’t have anyone who really supports my writing by cheering or asking me how it’s going, except for my cover artist Cristina Fabris (and I’m talking of offline acquaintaces here, not online friends). Sure, a couple are trying to follow in my footsteps, but they don’t really bother asking me how I’m doing. But I’ll keep going – just watch me! And, like the other Utah-based writer David Farland says – never give up!

And if you’re still worried about standards, check Kris Rusch’s post on the topic… Like my Jedi Twin says – more often than not, you don’t need a traditional publisher. Just do it yourself, especially if you’re young and tech-savvy. And if you need a history of traditional publishing, check Dean’s Killing the sacred cows of publishing post. And please be careful of scammers, like David Gaughran again points out – Author Solutions has reached the UK

On the writing side, well, I’ve been working on a few shorts for a little longer before sending them off to betas. Hopefully next week I’ll start on Assassins, since Mighty Editor Katy also sent back the revision of BoI-Air, so I better check it ASAP and work on the new POD and ebook version next week! 🙂 I alternate the writing with coloring SKYBAND 13, so hopefully by the weekend I’ll only have to put the balloons and lettering, whoot! 🙂

That’s all for the week! Have fun! And if you’re a writer – just write! 🙂 Apply butt in chair and write! Happy week!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. That’s a very sexy cover…

    Like

    Reply
    • that’s a battlesuit that gives her the strength of 2 or 3 men, so be careful! 😉

      Like

      Reply
      • Why is there such a strong recurring theme of sexual violence in this?

        Like

        Reply
        • it’s only in the sample – first part. The second story has none.

          Like

          Reply
          • I know – I’ve read it. My question, really, was why.

            By the way, if you feel like doing a guest post on my blog, I’d love it if you wanted to talk about bisexy cyborgs and/or a planet of women…

            Like

            Reply
            • I like twisting what happens in reality – on Earth women get raped for no reason, in my universes it’s men! 😉
              Both Silvery Earth and Star Minds have planet/countries ruled by women who treat men like some “civilizations” treat women on Earth…

              Like

              Reply
  2. Butt applied to the chair since 7 AM…now I can’t come unstuck!

    Like

    Reply
    • happens to writers and artists alike… glad I have this very bad habit of doing things on my bed when I don’t need the PC! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. I’m sorry you haven’t felt the support you look for either, Barb! Hope you do find it sometime from more. I certainly hope that for myself, as well. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I thank God for the supporting online friends like you! 🙂 But yeah, offline it’s different…
      Here’s to offline support from our loved ones! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Uh-oh! I’m sorry, before seeing this I already “jumped out” and deleted the posting. 😦

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

