Writer Wednesday


ChoicesOookay, first the writer’s news! One title up for B.G. Hope – Choices is now out on Smashwords, Kindle, Barnes&Noble and then Kobo and Apple… maybe. Kobo is always slower even if you go direct. As for Apple – they took 10 days to add Rapture, maybe because of the cover. Let’s see if this much less “erotic” cover goes live faster – and there’s no mature content whatsoever. I hear Apple takes up to 16 WEEKS to approve erotica… glad I don’t write in that genre! 😉

ef35c8744d8253cb93bc3dc034cd5ce7dd630abfAlso, yours truly (Barbara G.Tarn – I know, I have too many names) is featured in a Smashwords authors anthology, Wyrd Words. The edited and cut version of Conall’s sons, Half-blood is the last story of the anthology. Being the last is almost as bad as being the first… what if I leave the reader with a bad taste? Hopefully not! 🙂 Anyway, it’s FREE and it’s live on Smashwords, go and get it right now! 🙂

And if you’re on Goodreads, vote for Wyrd Worlds on this Listopia (I’ve also added Star Minds, if you feel so inclined to vote for that one too… ;))! You can also vote for it as best sci-fi anthology listopia… My review is on the Goodreads book page! 🙂 Read it, so you can comment knowing what I’m talking about, LOL!

I’ve wrapped draft zero of Amazons, but didn’t finish the S.K.Y.B.A.N.D. pencils during the weekend, so I’m falling behind there too. Sorry about that. I’ve become a sloth! 😉 Also, I’m considering writing a Snippet I had decided not to write, since it fits this anthology guidelines, so I might get to it soon. I’ve come up with an opening and I know where it goes, so why not. Thus, only one of the planned Snippets won’t come out after all (because I don’t write erotica and that’s a tough one, about slave trade in the galaxy and human sex toys. Maybe one day, but not this year).

The links: David Farland on balance. I know I should probably study a little more, but I think that writing as much as I do is as much of a school than attending any writing course, LOL!

Small publishers, the good and the bad. Rhemalda Publishing is closing, leaving its authors dismayed but not unpaid. No Boundaries Press closed without paying its authors, editors and cover artist. Writer beware before signing with a small publisher. Here we have the perfect example of the good (Rhemalda) and the bad (No Boundaries)… And also of the so-so, like this publisher canceling a book for a very silly reason.

Another excellent analysis of the new world of publishing and new services (such as MatchBook and Oyster) by Kris Rusch. Nobody knows anything anyway, but I think the publishing industry is following the music industry, so stay tuned and watch it change under your eyes. I can tell you it changed in the past 2 years since I started publishing my titles to the various e-retailers… Improvise and adjust and you’ll be just fine! 🙂

The wonderful Amanda Hocking on how to give yourself writer’s block. It’s not brand new, but if you really don’t know how to stop your creativity, you can follow her advice. Like her, I don’t know what writer’s block is, so I’m glad she did this handy post for me! 😉

How to overcome your fears when writing – it’s mostly geared to freelance writers, but I think it applies to fiction writers too (you know, those with writer’s block or low self-esteem…).

Now, back to typing Amazons and penciling S.K.Y.B.A.N.D. – have a great week! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. *sigh* about Rhemalda, but I’m really glad they’re the good press I was with, not the bad one. That would have been tragic for those other authors. Love that post by Amanda Hocking, heh. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, you were with one of the good ones! 😉 Hey, you never know, you might be the next Amanda Hocking! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

