Random Friday


And it’s mostly Art Friday. Mostly. Half Art Friday and half Movie Friday. More random than that I can’t get! 😉 So! Last weekend I tried to work on someone else’s project as an artist, but I backed off. I’m a hobbyist, not a professional illustrator. So I did Keanu Sunday (afternoon), watching Generation Um and then spending the rest of the afternoon on another portrait.

The movie… um. Will need to rewatch it with a friend, since she came to mind while I was watching it. I can’t say anything yet – not sure if I liked it or not, and why. But then, this isn’t a movies review blog, so I’m sure you’ll live happily ever after without my comments or reviews.

The drawing… well, since it’s on DeviantART, you can have it here too! 🙂 Actually, here you get the WiP – for the final drawing, go to DA.

2013nineWIP_resizeLooking good, Mr Reeves, and if you really feel sad (which I doubt in spite of all the internet meme about Sad Keanu), just give me a call! 🙂

Another movie I watched is Eden – abut human trafficking in the US. And if you think that’s not possible in a civilized country like the US, think again. And watch the movie, it’s based on a true story. Here, I give you even the buy link where I got mine – Mighty Zon, where else? I even used the pre-order button! 😉 Please help spread the word about these small independent movies! 🙂 Another highly recommented indie title is Disfigured – about accepting your body as it is. Little true stories the big studios have no idea of how to make.

Now, to more art. Remember the Smashwords anthology? No, it’s not out yet, and won’t be out for at least another month, but I did a couple of cover attempts. Since none were accepted by the other authors, I feel free to post this drawing here, with a challenge: write a story about it. The title is “Faeries field” and it’s obviously a cross-over between sci-fi and fantasy.

SWanthologySFF_resizeWrite your story and send it to me. If we gather enough, we can do a free anthology with that cover and spread our names further. If you’re interested, let me know in a comment and we can work out a deadline! 🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You draw too well to remain just a hobbyist. I wish I could write something but I draw a blank when I think of sci-fi and/or fantasy, though I love watching sci-fi and fantasy movies. It appears all I remember from the movies are the visuals – the mages, the elves, the mer-people, the fairies, the elves, the witches, the wizards, the unicorns, the orcs, the minotaurs…but can’t weave a story with them – not yet. If something comes to me, I am in 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • okay, let’s make it a screenplay contest! Or write a script for a graphic novel! 😉 I’m not going to draw it, though… I already need to finish SKYBAND – and I’m waaaay behind on that one! 😦

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

