Random Friday


On Saturday, after admiring Shafali’s latest work – a magazine cover no less! – I decided to rewatch one of the movies I suggested to her and since I didn’t have time for the Back To The Future Trilogy (gotta work on weekends, LOL!), I opted for Pleasantville – which I hadn’t watched in years. In case you missed it, it’s a cool end-of-the-century movie about two teens going back to the 1950s where everything is black&white – until they start messing up with the reality of the TV show they’ve entered. Some Truman Show and some Back to the Future and the cool mix of colors and black&white.

Apparently Rai 1 has bought every Shahid Kapoor movie, since every other Sunday it shows one of them, LOL! So last sunday it was Kismat Konnection which gave me a sense of déjà vu in the exteriors… Yeah, I guess I’ve seen enough of Toronto by now to recognize it even without the CN Tower (although I wasn’t sure it was Toronto until I saw it and Scotia Bank and the Canadian Flag – the Niagara Falls were only at the end of the movie, LOL!)! 😉 So, it’s another comedy, less silly than the previous one, and I like Vidya Balan and Juhi Chawla – although IMBD shows a “narrator” in the credits (SRK) but there was no voice over in the Italian version. I guess I’ll have to check the original sometime… That neverending list is never going down, sigh! 😦

I considered drawing for the rest of the Sunday afternoon (or even in the morning when I read the news on Facebook) since Hritik was undergoing brain surgery (sort of wishing-well drawing), but then the Writer got the better of the Artist and I stuck to writing. I had also bought National Geographic because I was interested in the space stuff, but then I found also other quite interesting articles that helped to make more realistic even the fantasy stories – like the article on Transylvania hay culture (so they’re not all vampires over there, LOL!).

Also for research purposes I rewatched Stage Beauty – which actually gave me more ideas about things regarding the Amazons Country, but I’ll use them in some other story, LOL! Now I wasn’t able to figure out the original title (or even the interpreters) of next Sunday Bollywood movie on Rai 1, so we’ll see. It will be a Sunday Surprise, LOL! But you better not forget the SFF Kindle event… I know I’ll have to check some of those titles! 🙂

Sci Fi Event - Im going PosterLast but not least – a list of “favorite” books (not mine, LOL! I have a few favorite authors, but I’m not mentioning them). I’ve read 3 out of 28 and they don’t rank very high in my favorite list. The Catcher in the Rye, Fight Club (both book and movie), Pride and Prejudice – and I’ve watched the Narnia movies but read none of the books, and have read a manwha version of Twilight, that’s it. But again – not impressed by any (well, Fight Club – the movie, yes, but you can guess it’s not for the prose!)! 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. LOL… Only one of those books is on *my* favorites list 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the mention, Barb. Your Hrithik is fine, but then the doctors who operate upon our celebrities are the best – perhaps in the world – so I am not surprised 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Hey, do you want Sussane to come after me with an axe?!?! She hates women named Barbara! 😉 (can’t find it again, but I’m sure I read it on his IMDB profile – during or after Kites with Barbara Mori, Sussane threw him out of the house). So, he’s not mine, okay? 😉
      And you’re welcome for the mention! 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

