Writer Wednesday


Sci Fi Promo Event Share PictureDid you notice the new widget in the sidebar? I’m participating in this wonderful event! 🙂 So don’t miss the sale and check the other wonderful authors participating! Lots of lovely covers  – my TBR list will grow again, sigh! And apparently there will be some kind of contest as well, yay! A great applause to author Tim Flanagan for starting this! He’s doing more in other genres, so if you write paranormal romance, you might want to check him out!

Just for your information, the participating books for yours truly are Books of the Immortals – Air, Chronicles of the Varian Empire – The Left-handed Warrior and Technological Angel. I can fix the 99c/75p prices, but the other markets will vary (still be discounted for two days, though)… Feel free to spread the word – I have created a Goodreads event and a Facebook event… share, share, share, the more the merrier, thank you!

Besides, July is the sales month! This year Smashwords does the Summer/Winter sale again, so everything at Unicorn Productions is 50% off until the end of the month (the above 3 will still be more than 99c, so you might want to wait for that). Which means some books will be free. Which means I thank very much the kind person who bought 3 books mere hours before the start of the sale – hopefully that wonderful person will check them before the end of the month and get more with the discounted price! 🙂

Finishing Amazon Sisters, so I can re-read and send it off to betas and get back to Star Minds Snippets. By the way, I’ve found this interesting site, No Names, No Jackets, that allows you to sample books without being distracted by covers or blurbs or all that marketing stuff (that often gets on my nerves). I have uploaded a few excerpts of my books, but they’re not all live yet, so just play with the random search and see if you can recognize them! 🙂 I’ll eventually add them to the “Excerpts and Free Reads” page…

Some interesting links! Thank God someone finally expressed my opinion of the Her0’s Journey! 🙂 This so reminds me of those screenwriting gurus telling you how a screenplay should be structured having never written one in their entire life. Same thing here – someone studied the classics and decided that’s how a story should be told. And probably never actually wrote anything – like the “how to write” books written by editors. I doubt any writer would be very articulate in saying how he/she came up with the story.

Unless he’s David Farland (or a few others who can actually teach how to write). See Dave’s post on Grey Heroes. Another two are Kris Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith. I might take the lecture on pen names at some point, since I can’t make it to the Oregon Coast this year. But I enjoy the live workshops more, so here’s to next year’s travels (which will include Loncon, but hopefully also a workshop with Dean&Kris).

Then check David Gaughran’s talk with Alliance of Independent Authors’ Orna Ross. This looks like an interesting organization, since it includes the likes of Writers Beware Victoria Strauss and Passive Guy. Worth thinking about joining.

Kris Rusch on life changing events. I have donated for Dave’s son, will have to check about Peter David. Honestly I’m not thinking about the future yet – not that I want to live for ever, far from that, but I still have to figure out a couple of things in this very complicated country or find a way out of it and try to earn some other citizenship. Yes, we might have free healthcare, so I won’t apply for a Greencard, but I do want to emigrate to a less complicated country! 🙂

And if you’d like to make a living with short fiction, don’t forget to check the maths on Dean’s blog. I think that even the most busy person in the world can find 15 minutes to write every day, or even one hour, but then, I’ve heard plenty of “writers” who seem unable to find the time to write. They’re probably wannabe authors. Writers write. They don’t talk about writing, they just write. So if you’re a writer, just go back to writing.

Finally, to blog or not to blog. Up to you. I enjoy this, so I’ll keep doing it. Even if with less frequency than when I started, you’ll still get regular posts here. B.G Hope has a static web page because I can’t handle two blogs, LOL! Unless I start one for readers, with free fiction or whatnot. Mmm, no, I’d rather be off writing the next story, sorry! 🙂 Have a wonderful week and don’t forget to check the Smashwords sale – a reminder for the Kindle event next week! 🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ok. You said it. Writers write. And so I wrote(ahem!) Another story’s almost written for that project 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cate Russell-Cole

     /  05/07/2013

    Will promo. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

