Random Friday


First, if you wish to be a writer… and if you want to be indie, who do you…? Damn, I knew there was a reason to stick with traditional publishing! 😀

It’s Random Friday, I’m going on vacation from DayJob for 2 weeks (staying at home working as a writer/publisher), so I decided to open with something funny. And it’s not over! Something funny came up this week, and I still haven’t made up my mind about it – mostly for an uncooperative Techie Bro who is too lazy to humor me, haha!

See this Kickstart Project? I did paint miniatures in the 1990s – I still have some dioramas to prove it, and a box full of unpainted miniatures with a few colors that are drying unused in my drawers. My eyes don’t work so well anymore, so I had to stop playing with beads and I certainly won’t be able to paint anymore miniatures. So I asked Dear Techie Bro if he’d paint them for me – if I ordered me and him as warriors and Dear Nephew as squire. So far he refused. We’ll see if I can convince him, by giving him my colors or buying him a new set and sending that picture of us “without glasses” (or maybe even snap a new one) since we’re both shortsighted…

Maybe  I’ll also dump that box of unpainted miniatures on him. Actually, there’s a bunch that are painted – I took down one or 2 dioramas because I wanted to do the assault on the castle, which I never did in the end… I even have 2 dragons, so wouldn’t it look cool having me and Techie Bro fighting the blue dragon to protect Dear Nephew? If I ever do that diorama, you’ll be the first to know! 🙂

And before you ask, no, I never played role-playing games. When I discovered the Dragonlance Saga and RPGs, I thought I’d never be able to write down all the adventures that came out of the games, so I decided not to play. But I liked the miniatures and in the late 1990s that was my hobby. Then came the jewelry and beads. And now it’s drawing those pencil portraits that don’t come out very well scanned or printed. “Work” should be writing, drawing the covers and the graphic novel (colored with Photoshop), formatting and publishing – so that’s what I’ll be doing for the next 2 weeks, yay! 😀

I’ll leave you with a slideshow of miniatures – the first ones are actual non-digital photos of the dioramas, including the 2 I “destroyed”. Printed pics scanned for your eyes only – sometimes not so good, but I left out the worst. So the scene with the giants and the “castle” (done with a piece of stereo or VCR wrapping) are no more, and all those painted miniatures wait to be used with the brand new castle I bought just before I stopped buying them. I remember the best (and most expensive) were from Mithril (The Saul Zaentz Company has used the mark Mithril for many years in connection with a variety of things, including for example, collectible figurines, online role-playing video games and entertainment services.), but most of mine are Warhammer or other “cheap” miniatures… And the “monsters” (still to be painted) were from the ex-boyfriend of a friend of mine, he painted the few that are painted, not me. I’m not really into monsters, I’m surprised I did the goblin vs.elves (the goblins were probably from his collection anyway)! 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On a final note – I have a Silver Rodent, yay! 😀 Have a great weekend! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

