Writer Wednesday

Published 27/02/2013 by Barb

I’m writing. Draft Zero on laptop. Unbelievable. But because it’s set in the real world, I find it useful to google any doubt I might have, instead of keep writing and jotting down “check this or that” in the margins. And I’m bothering my friends with emails as well. As of Monday afternoon I had 8200words – I started last Wednesday afternoon, but after a not so clean handwritten draft of the first 2 or 3 scenes, I moved to laptop.

Monday night I was at 10600 (okay, I admit the Word wordcount feature is cool). Last night (and Tuesday is busy with the Hindi lessons, so not much time to write) I closed at 14000. That’s when I saved the last draft of this post, scheduled for this morning.

Usually my handwritten drafts are very “clean” – I just write. But in this case it was messy, so I just typed it all and kept going. And if something comes up, I just add it or correct it immediately. I also had time to re-read what I’ve done so far (yeah, busy Tuesday morning at DayJob – not!) and modified a couple of things before adding the new scenes. So now I know I can have a weekly wordcount of 14k! 😉

Ideas keep popping up to make it longer, so hopefully it will end up around 27k like the other body switch. I know, it’s not real novels, but I can’t stretch them too much. And comedies are usually shorter than dramas, and this his definitely another comedy – and a clash of cultures.

Then I’ve started the Emotion Thesaurus – but then decided it’s not worth reading it all. I read the introduction and then I keep it next to me, so I can check the emotions as soon as they happen, and adapt to each character whatever is going on. Like a dictionary. It was suggested by David Farland, by the way, and it’s a good tool for writers – maybe I can avoid some emotional cliché! 🙂

For fun, check this post about fonts. I use Times New Roman for prose and Comic Sans for graphic novels – I don’t care if people hate it, it is a comic, so it needs Comic Sans, LOL! And I’m so sick of Courier New after writing all those screenplays… and I come from manual or electric typewriters as well, so – really, enough already! I might download Celtx on laptop to write a screenplay version of the above story – if in the meantime I’ve got past my revulsion for Courier New! 😉

Now, if you want some tips from a “classic” author, here’s Hemingway. I don’t agree with everything he says, so I’ll keep doing what I want, LOL! I’ll stop when my hand aches (or my back/eyes, if I’m writing directly on Laptop), I’ll keep thinking about the story whenever I can (especially when I’m at DayJob, if I can) and I’ll barely read the last sentence written before continuing because I used to do what he did, and then got so bored with story beginnings, I ended up hating them all and knowing them by heart. Yikes. Those were the times of shorter stories, so I really started from the beginning every time I went back to writing and still it was a very clean handwrittend draft – lucky youthful naivety!

And I use pencils only for drawing, but I do use a pen for Draft Zero, normally. As for the emotions – that’s what the thesaurus is for! By the way, anyone knows how to turn off highlights on Kindle? It feels like reading a used book! 😦 Why on earth would I care what somebody else I don’t even know liked – in fiction, it’s totally useless, in non-fiction it’s even worse, because I might want to hightlight something completely different, but I’d still have a copy of the e-book with other people’s highlights. That’s why I hate buying my ebooks on Amazon… So, is there a way to turn the thing off or should I just ignore the highlights? 😦

I have also thought about “working with Neil Gaiman“, but considering the great artists already on DeviantART and being more a hobbyist artist myself, I decided to pass on this. I had found 3 stories I thought I could illustrate, but no, I don’t feel comfortable enough. I’ll collaborate with Neil Gaiman as a writer some day, sounds much better! 😉 Right, back to work. Have a wonderful week!

4 comments on “Writer Wednesday

  • Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

