Random Friday


I’ll get the movies out of the way first. I found two gread deals (3euro each), so I took a chance. Akeelah and the Bee was already sort of on the to watch list (meaning I had heard of it, mostly because it was shot while I was still attending screenwriting expos and reading screenwriting magazines, LOL) and it’s indeed an uplifting story that brought some tears to my eyes. I still don’t get the spelling frenzy, but whatever, LOL! And Lawrence Fishbourne is always a pleasure to watch, haha. BTW this DVD had even Hindi subtitles among others – of course I can’t read them, but I thought it would be fun to mention. I’ve never seen a Hollywood movie DVD with Hindi subtitles! ๐Ÿ˜‰

The other movie was chosen without even reading the back of the DVD – just because. Yeah, I mentioned the most often used method to chose movies for me is “who’s in it”. Not Da Muse in this case, but gorgeous Cillian Murphy, hehe. I thought “for 3euro I don’t care what it’s about” so I just bought it. It’s a comedy, and it’s fun. The stupid Italian title (not so Italian after all, that’s why I wonder why they change it if they don’t translate it) is “I Heart Movies”, but the original is Watching the Detectives – much better actually. I might have missed some jokes as there were only Italian subtitles on this one, so I turned them off, but I’ll watch it again.

Now, to the reading year! Ta-daan! I read almost 60 titles from short stories to novels and a few non-fiction (+ my own titles, which is quite a lot of reading, LOL). 9 dead-tree books, 6 PDF or ARCs, 5 manuscripts (none got published yet, but I hope they will) and 30+ titles on Kindle. Recommended reading (in no particular order, I picked the ones that had more stars – link is to the Goodreads page).

Away with the Fairies by Vivienne Tuffnell (women’s fiction)

The Other Slipper by Kenechi Udogu (fairy tale revisited)

The Boyfriend by R.Raj Rao (gay literature)

Curio by Cara McKenna (author guest on this blog – romance/erotica)

Still Taking Chances by Roz Lee (author guest on this blog – romance/erotica)

Follow the Dream by Heidi M. Thomas (western/historical)

Jungle Heat by Bonnie Dee (m/m romance/erotica)

Bonded by Michelle Davidson Argyle (author guest on this blog – fairy tale revisited)

Different genres and different “heat” levels, but I like to explore new genres – as long as there’s a good story behind! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now, for 2013 reading… I still have 14 dead-tree books to read. On my Kindle I have 10 fiction books, 5 classics (includes 16 volumes of 1001 nights downloaded from Project Guttenberg, dunno when I’ll ever get to those, LOL!) and 8 non-fiction (and I’m still reading Kris Rusch’s freelancer’s guide… in bits and pieces between fiction). And then there’s my Smashwords library/wishlist with 40 books (including book 4 of Amaranthine series) with lots of new authors I’d love to try – sigh. I better set my goal on Goodreads on Jan.1st and see if I can do it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I guess that’s all for this year… the rest of the posts are scheduled, so see you in 2013! ๐Ÿ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. see you in 2013 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    • absolutely! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      Reply
      • raining here, so lovely and romantic weather. Weekend alomost, any plans?

        Like

        Reply
        • writing the first Amazon title for next year – a very dramatic story, at least for the male characters who probably both die. But when you’re under a cruel and sadistic queen who thinks you’re an animal (and his actually really powerful), you don’t have many chances of survival, LOL!).
          Also, there should be the documentary Side By Side in streaming somewhere, so I’ll have a look at that (even if I prefer my muse clean-shaven) as it’s only until the end of the year, LOL!

          Like

          Reply
          • wow a new story. wish you best of luck. But wheres fun and joy ๐Ÿ˜‰ ?

            Like

            Reply
          • *growls at Akishmet who keeps putting you in the spam folder – it should know by now that I will always un-spam your comments, grunt!*
            Happiness is… creative frenzy, my friend. I’m a true writer, my joy is in writing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I’m having more fun writing than trying to fit in the world… I now, I know, grumpy old spinster here! ๐Ÿ˜€

            Like

            Reply
  2. So…what’s a dead-tree book? Wait a sec…it must be a book with real paper, the kind we used to read when we inhabited a different, wireless world! Right? So you still have some of those antiques lying around. Barb, you need to smarten up. You’ve got to get kindled and iPaded and ePubbed and whatever else, you do to read stuff in this brand-new, post-mayan, post-non-apocalypsian world! (Now stop reading. This is between the caricaturist and her alter-ego. “What sort of antiquated friends do I have? They still kill trees to read books! Horribly horrible! Terribly terrible!”)

    Now I must stop murdering English and get back to drawing an evil crow, who is out to destroy love and kindness!

    Like

    Reply
    • I did murder English in the last line. Will you kindly correct it – “who is out to destroy love and kindness.” Yikes!

      Like

      Reply
      • you mean taking out the last 3 words?
        BTW, native speakers butcher English according to which part of the world they come from, so I wouldn’t bother – we’re both non-native and we probably speak better than the average native anyway! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

        Reply
        • I’d like to banish those three words, please ๐Ÿ™‚ Because it’s a stupid error that happened because two thoughts got mixed up, and not because I am non-native speaker. My prepositions are a different matter, though ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          Reply
    • all those dead-tree books were bought before I got myself a Kindle… yes, that’s how long they’ve been on my desk – so for 2 years or 3… and because I prefer reading on Kindle, I always read more e-books (like 3 e-books vs 1 print-book) and the pile never goes down.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Oh…and “Away with the Fairies” is a lovely book ๐Ÿ™‚ Darkly mysterious, it pulls you into an intelligent and creative woman’s mind…who is curious, fearful, and ironically, courageous too. Vivienne is a wonderful writer and one day her books will find their way into the hearts of many many readers, as must the books by another extremely prolific writer, whose writing belongs to a genre that I don’t understand, but whose passion for writing makes me believe that she will surely win!

    Wish you a very happy new year.

    Like

    Reply
    • you can try her other pen name… want a free copy of Six Months to see if you like it more than Silvery Earth? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      And yes, we’ll keep following Viv – I know she has another book out, but I didn’t have time to get it. On the TBR/wishlist, sigh…
      Happy New Year to you! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      Reply
    • Viv

       /  28/12/2012

      *blushes and sneaks off* eavesdroppers really ought not to listen in.
      Seriously, a big thank you for that, for both of you. May 2013 be a wonderful year for us all.
      2012 was actually a really interesting year of extremes for me. I’ll be blogging my Janus (the 2 faced god of Rome, looking back and forward) for the New Year on Monday.
      Happy New Year to you, Barb, and also to you Shafali.
      xx

      Like

      Reply
      • *feels guilty for not really being updated – I know you have another book out, but didn’t have time to check it*

        yes, 2012 was the end of the world as we know it and a big turning point for many of us. I earned my first few $$ for my writing and went to a convention as an author.

        May 2013 bring most of our dreams come true! ๐Ÿ™‚
        Hugs
        Barb

        Like

        Reply
  4. Viv

     /  28/12/2012

    Ah don’t worry about it. It’s not going away. It’s also a fair bit longer that the other two.
    This year coming, I have various plans, hopes etc, but mostly I’d just like to continue the mostly ok moods.
    Perhaps this year, if I know in time to get affordable rail tickets to London, I can meet you there!

    Like

    Reply
    • let’s toast to that! I’ll make sure to let you know when I get to London as soon as I book the flights (usually one or two months ahead of time), so you can be an early booker too and we can meet and hug in person! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      Reply
  5. Couldn’t find the reply button on the thread of the first comment (guess it goes only four levels deep.) Who are you calling grumpy, and old, and spinster?! You are none of these. Spinster? You are a happy single woman living life on her own terms. You are just awesome, Barb.

    Like

    Reply
    • yes, don’t remember here you add levels on the “reply” – just click on the last “reply” button available and it will add to that list.
      And thank you, that’s why I have awesome friends like you online that I can’t find in real life. Should I move to Delhi? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Don’t worry, the climate is bad for my health, although I hope to get to India some day…

      Like

      Reply
  6. An English movie with Hindi subtitles… this is confounding!

    Best of luck with the reading. I should always read more. If you look at the Reviews on my Blog, it’s almost 100 movies, 40-something TV Shows, and I think single digits for the Book Reviews. Le sigh.

    Like

    Reply
    • English movie with Hindi subtitles – it’s the first time I see one! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m used to the contrary too…
      I can read mre because I don’t watch TV, LOL. I stopped altogether when we lost the French TV channel and went to digital or something. I switch on my TV only to watch DVDs. Now I had an opportunity to watch something in streaming – but by now I’m soo used to watch when I want that I can’t stick to schedules (hence I don’t go to movie theaters much anymore either – also because they closed most theaters that showed un-dubbed movies in Rome).
      That’s why you’ll probably never see a “latest release” review of anything on this blog, though… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

