Random Friday


Okay, today I’ll have a mix of movies and graphic novel – all related to Bollywood, LOL. So, SKYBAND has a virtual cast, and I’m introducing secondary characters taken from Bollywood. SRK was in chapter 2, Hritik is in chapter 12 – my own version, that is. If you can recognize them or not, is another matter altogether! Anyway, I’m posting two pages – one from chapter 2, the other from chapter 12, sorry it’s still unlettered, but Desktop keeps crashing. I guess I’ll have to leave it with Techie Bro for a couple of months before I start chapter 13. Sigh.

The Governor of Gladius and Killius

Agharek’s ambassador and Nadira

Recognizable? Not really, I know. By the way, the second character knows both Killius and Nadira (he is related to Gladius Governor, who is the king’s brother, while the ambassador to the former Black Empire is probably his cousin… small world, I know!). Our heroes had to run away from Gladius and the kingdom of Agharek in chapter 2. But they’re going back soon – as long as they stay away from Gladius, LOL!

Anyway, because there was a national holiday and a weekend, I managed to watch some of my DVDs (2 more movies to go, yay!). KHKN (I’ll go with acronyms when I don’t want to get lost in Hindi spelling, LOL) has nice songs. And yeah, decent story as well. Rom-com, if that’s your thing. And a much younger SRK, haha! By the way, Happy Birthday, Shah Rukh! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Still, it’s 20th century Bollywood – and I prefer 21st century Bollywood, hehe! ๐Ÿ˜‰

But they apparently miss their 20th century industry, as shown in Om Shanti Om and Dirty Picture! I already mentioned the latter, so, about the first: starts in the 1970s and ends supposedly 30 years later in 2007 – but the poster of the Big B movie next to Dreamy Girl is from 1973 0r 1975 (can’t remember which it is, I have both and have watched one of them so far). Do they keep movie posters out two years after theater release? Tut-tut! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, great songs here too, and a love-story with ghosts and reincarnation. Lots of people playing themselves (I love how Abishek loses the Filmfare Award to Om/SRK! ;)) and fun to watch. 21st century Bollywood in spite of the revival, LOL! I only hated Arjun’s fake aging, but that’s something I hate in all movies – sorry make-up artists, you’re not good at making a 30something look 60, neither in Hollywood or Bollywood or Cinecittร  or wherever! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Then I watched Zanjeer – very ruined film so I’m not sure if some blurry effects were because it’s 30-year-old or because they were like this even back in 1973. Anyway, now I know who Abishek took from. Big B’s Vijay Khanna looks a lot like Dhoom’s Jay Dixit – without the stubble. So please, younger Bollywood, cut that stubble (I know, it’s all Hritik’s fault! From now on I’ll draw him clean-shaven even if he has facial hair on the original pic, ha!)! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have Sholay and Swades left, plus one that I had sent to London by mistake, so I’ll recover it around the 20th of this month. But the DVD wishlist is very long again, so especially if I find a specialized shop in London, I might keep myself busy until Christmas! I’ll try to make a post of suggestions before the Holidays like I did last year – with this year’s discoveries. Sorry I’m kinda late, but they don’t come out in theaters in Italy, so I’m stuck with DVDs. Which is fine, as they’re available worldwide, LOL! ๐Ÿ˜€

Have a great weekend!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I’ve got to comment on this post of Bollywood-Deewani ๐Ÿ™‚

    While I appreciate your kind-heartedness, Bollywood’s makeup artists are especially useless. They need to recruit some artists not craftsmen to do the makeup – but they won’t – because they are cheap! The only people who get paid in Bollywood movies are the heroes of the movies (next the heroines.) If Shahrukh/Salman/Akshay get between USD 3 to 5 Million to do a movie, Kareena/Katrina would get less than half-a-million. Others get almost nothing (BTW, unlike in Hollywood movies, a BW actor would be working on 3-4 movies simultaneously, churning out as many as half a dozen movies or more in an year). This is why the make-up is bad, the stunts are atrocious, and the sets aren’t realistic.

    zanjeer was an especially good movie – especially for the time in which it was made, and trust me, Abhishek wouldn’t last a day in the industry if he wasn’t Amitabh Bacchan’s son. He could however do comic roles, as I discovered in Bol Bacchan, a movie that I happened to watch, because I wanted a diversion and the news channels were full of corruption/scandals related news.

    More later…
    Got to return to writing…and drawing.

    Like

    Reply
    • Like I said, make-up artists are bad all over the world, especially when it comes to make a 30something look old. Crispin Glover in Back to the Future was as ugly as Arjun Rampal in Om Shanti Om! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sometimes with CG they manage to do it right (Brad Pitt in Benjamin Button), but if it’s make up… yuk! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

      Reply
  2. Oh…forgot the important bit.
    Those drawings are cool. Lend me your patience for a few days…please ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • who’s impatient with you? Did I ask again for that drawing you promised? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m just waiting… and it’s hard to harness my natural impatience – I finish a book today and want it out by tomorrow, when I write longhand and need time to type, proofread, send to betas, wait for editors, etc. Who’s patient? Not me! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

      Reply
      • I AM impatient with everything I do…when I do this, I keep feeling bad about that…and so on and so forth…and anything that takes more time than I expect it to take, drives me crazy…
        Excuse my bad memory but which drawing? ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

        Reply
        • Told you I won’t ask for the drawing again! ๐Ÿ˜‰ If you remember, fine, if you don’t… I’ll “unfriend” you, hahahahahahaha!
          Just kidding! You draw to smile, don’t you? I’ve decided to write comedies only from now on!
          Kidding again – I love my drama too much! ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Like

          Reply
          • That powerful threat has made my neurons active again. It must be Hritik…I did a horrible caricature of him long ago – I’ll see if I can find it for you ๐Ÿ™‚ He looks like a vampire in it.
            Oh…btw, there’s a lot more to this caricaturist than just drawing…wait and watch ๐Ÿ™‚ But yes, I draw to smile, and smile when I draw.

            Like

            Reply
          • well, he IS the Desi vampire who will meet Samantha the Witch in B.G.Hope’s Silvery Earth some time in the future (still have to write a couple of body switches with Samantha before she meets the Desi vampire who is as immortal as her – for different reasons!)! ๐Ÿ˜‰
            More Desi vampires: Akshay Kumar and Madouri Dixit! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Check their canines! ๐Ÿ˜€

            Like

            Reply
  3. Akshay Kumar…a vampire! Wait till he find you! Madhuri still looks quite human (and beautiful even though in a stretched sort of way.) If you are looking for female vampires of the desi variety, check out Aishwarya – ever since she’s got those flour-sacks on, she’s begun to color her eyes black and blue, and her neck shows a huge gash-like line. This is fastest deterioration that I’ve ever witnessed in a celeb. I think that poor woman has resigned herself to the fate of being a Bachhan bahu (D-i-L of the Bacchans,) and soon we’ll see the non-glamming begin.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Guess what? You are the only place in the blogo-sphere where I stop to comment! I must be a loner!

    Like

    Reply
    • that makes two of us! I’m OK with it (like I posted on Facebook), you? ๐Ÿ˜‰
      BTW, my vampires will NOT glitter! ๐Ÿ˜€ I still have to read the original Bram Stoker book, but my idea of vampires is more Anne Rice than Stephenie Meyer… more recent vampire author is Joleene Naylor, and we all hate Twilight, LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. I have a torn and almost-gone copy of Dracula by Bram Stoker. It loses some pages whenever I touch it. I read a couple of Anne Rice’s (Queen of the Damned…and I think the other one was Interview with a Vampire – Tom Cruise acted as Vampire Lestat in it…but I am not sure of anything now. It was all a long time back.) The good news is that I didn’t grow fangs after having read those books ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • I read the first 3 of Anne Rice – and Louis/Brad Pitt is still my favorite vampire, arf! ๐Ÿ˜€ But with Queen of the Damned I thought she had lost it and quit reading! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But yes, it was last century – but we’re not old at all, we’re young at heart! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      Reply
  6. Okay…let us begin your Hindi class in a small way.
    When you see an Indian, fold your hands and say “Namaste” (na-mast-aye) – the most common greeting of all.
    Next…”Main khush hoon” (Mai-n (nasal n) kh-oo-sh hoo-n (nasal n) – Translates to “I am happy.”

    Like

    Reply
    • “namaste” was the first Hindi word I learned, way back last century before Hritik was born (yeah, I’m that old, LOL!) because there was a TV series (from the 60s, actually) Maya – Indian boy with elephant looking for American boy’s father, and the Indian boy always greeted people with Namaste! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      The rest… will come, mere doste! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment, I won't bite! Pretty please?

