Writer Wednesday


I forgot to mention that while in Massa I saw the first fireflies of my life – I was bummed because I didn’t see them in Certaldo and then my cousin’s wife said “Look, a firefly!” and suddenly in a garden in the middle of a town I saw one. Three the following night. I didn’t know they were seasonal, and apparently this year was good for them. But then the heat fried my brain and I forgot to mention it, LOL!

Anyhow, I’ve sent out the new version of CVE3.  So I’m done cutting chapters and characters, adding the beginning of the next book that actually belongs to this one, etc. I even put back in two scenes that I had cut out at first translation when the actual end was supposed to be the middle of the next book. So I’m very curious to hear what editors and beta have to say about the changes. And wordcount went from 58K to 76K, so this makes it the longest novel for this year, LOL! Anyway, it’s a little like Loralie‘s revisions of her book, which means we’re all the same after all – fast or slow, sometimes we really turn our stories upside down! :-)

I must thank Prue  for discovering the Cosmopolitan cover generator – please check her “historical” issue and then the Silvery Earth special here.

I’ve tried to summarize what happens in CVE3, with the southern campaign, an Amazon marrying the Varian Emperor and on the cover your neighborhood warrior woman, Astrid, the female protagonist. And no, I didn’t submit for a real Cosmo issue – why, would you like to read it? ;-) Well, you can’t because it’s a medieval world – they haven’t invented newspapers yet (they have in BoI – Earth, but this is before) and certainly not magazines… so this is really a virtual issue! ;-)

The story I worked on last week is this year’s sci-fi title, Technological Angel. Which starts on 1982 Earth, so it took some research to add to my own memories of what and wasn’t available at the time! :) Again, I’m pointing to a post about Technology by Loralie as I’m a technophobe (but I’m still here indie publishing, LOL. Ever heard of a technological luddite? ;-)). I wonder what younger people would think of 1982 Earth in my novel – yes, there’s also 2002 and now, for obvious reasons, it ends in 2012. You can tell I first wrote it ten years ago, but it evolved a lot through Italian betas and my own writer-evolution. I sure hope to have at least one of them that reads English to check the latest version when I’m done. I still have to write the final part about 2012, but as I started this back in April, I need to type what I have so far to continue organically. Hopefully soon it will be done – I might discuss it with one beta at the Chicon7! :-)

Now, Katy gave me the Liebster Blog award, which I already had from Georgina back in January, so I’m not really passing it on. I believe it changed from what it used to be (see original post), but I did receive some blog awards that requested to say something about myself and answer questions… so I will answer Katy’s questions to follow the new rules because she tagged me and she deserves an answer even if I don’t pass it on! ;-) Here goes.

11 Questions for Those Bloggers:
1. What is the weirdest thing you have ever done in public? Gee, I don’t know, I hate being at the center of the attention… but if you poke me enough, you can watch my nice hysterics! :-)

2. Why did you get into blogging? Because I’m a compulsive writer – can’t stop writing (although I decreased the number of posts, used to be short and daily, now longer and every other day)

3. Whose idea was all this, anyway? Dunno, Katy, but someone twisted the rules during the past 6 months, it wasn’t like this! ;-)

4. What is your favorite genre to read? Fantasy – although some subgenres such as urban or paranormal don’t really appeal to me. It must be another world, not our planet with vampires or werewolves! ;-)

5. What is your favorite genre to write, just for you? steamy m/m romance – I end up censoring it whenever I want someone else to read it, LOL!

6. What is your favorite book you wrote? usually the last one – but I haven’t written anything totally new since I started translating/rewriting and publishing my Italian stories.

7. Do you have a favorite book? If so, what is it? anything by Brunella Gasperini, my inspirator.

8. What kind of music do you like to listen to? 1980s pop, 1990s rock, celtic, Bollywood – anything, really, from any era and any country, as long as there’s some form of melody! :-D

9. Favorite food? I eat to live, don’t live to eat…

10. (this is bloody exhausting) Will you still be friends with me after all this? Of course, Dear Editor! :-)

11. There is no question 11! You’re welcome (hopefully this will relate to Question 10). Phew! :-D

I’ll stick to the old rule for this award – no questions and no nothing. And, like I said, I will not pass it on. If you want it, grab it, and answer Katy’s questions! ;-)

Now, closing with a few links: Dean Wesley Smith on e-book pricing again. Michael Stackpole on traditional publishing obsolete thinking about e-books. 6 steps to publishing on a Shoestring. Actually, check all of SPAL if you wanto to learn to DIY! ;-) And don’t forget the new Smashwords requirement for cover images (I always uploaded the same image I used for POD, I only did the “e-book version” when I started uploading to Xinxii or Drivethru…). That’s all for today! :-)

Previous Post
Next Post

2 Comments

  1. Wow, you’re not kidding someone twisted the rules! Day-um, used to be much easier! heh. No worries, no need to annoy anyone else :-)

    Fireflies are awesome! Here in Georgia they are out from late May until mid- to late June – about 3-4 weeks, during their mating season. When I am awake at the proper time – right at gloaming, as the sun sets – I like to go sit outside and watch them wake up and fly up from the ground. They’re lovely insects! And yes, they are seasonal, and also tend to inhabit warmer climes. When I read something that talks about November in New York and fireflies, I want to scream – it just doesn’t happen!! We never had fireflies in any of these following locations where I have lived: anywhere in Montana, eastern or Western North Dakota, southern Minnesota, or the Portland, OR area, so I highly doubt they’re to be found in the more northern regions of the US. I know I used to love going to visit my relatives in Missouri in the late spring/early summer because they did have fireflies and I loved to chase them with my cousins.

    Several years back, when there were people living in the other side of the duplex, I was sitting outside one evening trying to enjoy the fireflies and one of the obnoxious children that were always over visiting the kids next door actually batted one out of the air and killed it! I was livid and told him to get his sociopathic ass OUT of my YARD. One of the kids that actually lived in the duplex was out in the yard and started swinging around a stick, and I screamed at him ,too. Why do children feel the need to destroy things like that???? Grrrrr.

    OK, my cat is calling, must run!

    • I have never put fireflies in my stories because I had never seen one (I put crickets singing during summer nights, yes, because I heard them). My cousin told me “it’s because you never came to Massa this early” – which is true, I normally go there in July or August (sometimes September), so no fireflies. And it WAS barely after sunset! So now that I know, maybe next spring I’ll go for a walk after dinner – I live in a very green suburb, I’m sure I can see them also in Roma! :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 601 other followers

