Writer Wednesday


Mighty Jo passed me the Sunshine Award, but I answered her questions on her blog, and I’m not going to pass it on, haha! OK, as usual, if you want it, go grab it, and answer her questions and I don’t want to come up with new ones. And I’m posting this on one of those dreaded holidays (Anniversary of Liberation in Italy). Meh.

Anyhow, I managed to do some catch up with blogs (not so much with reading books, sigh!) and I can recommend Who is your target audience – don’t do like me, I have no idea. Well, I know I write for myself first, then for adults like me who still like to dream of fantasy worlds and magic creatures, and are aware of being different from the rest of humanity but don’t care too much. Lots of outsiders and outcasts in my fantasy books! ;-)

Some good tips on putting more eggs in more baskets (or “forget KDP Select” – from what I’ve heard, it’s not so good after all). Which is what I do, trying to put graphic novels on the right e-stributor and spreading the prose wherever I can. And remember it’s not a get-rich-quick thing. You have to write the next book, and the next, and the next. Readers will find you, eventually. Might be 5 the first year, 25 the second, 625 the third (I’m using a calculator, because my math skills are next to 0), etc.

And SPAL gives tips to marketing and promoting, but also how NOT to market. Both are spot on. Don’t do to your readers what you don’t want for yourself, right? I’ll stick to my few venues (Facebook – although I hate their Timeline, imposed on my author page, grrr! -, Goodreads) – but on GR I stick to smaller groups, as I can’t interact in groups where there are 5000 people (even if I’m looking for 5000 fans, but as I can’t please everyone and I don’t want to market to death, thus I’d rather find them in smaller groups a few at the time! ;-)) and the group is old enough to have dozens of threads and hundreds of posts to catch up. Sorry, can’t do it. I need time to write, draw and read BOOKS not forums! :-D

And remember the world of publishing is changing, and changing fast. Like Kris Rusch says, publishing is a button now. Writer, publishers, get used to it! ;-) This writer here is even starting some merchandising (for her non-existant fans, LOL), so if you like any of this, let me know, and I’ll make it available on my Zazzle store! ;-)

Awe! Ain’t they beautiful? (Please note that the S.K.Y.B.A.N.D. t-shirt is from last year, but the CVE covers and the hoodie are brand new) I know the white hoodie must be for special occasions as it won’t stay white for very long if I wear it at DayJob, LOL!

OK, for my only S.K.Y.B.A.N.D. reader, the Omnibus 2 should be out on Monday on DriveThruComics – a little more expensive than the Lulu version (you can see the price on the Omnibus 1), I know, but still a deal compared to the single issues. I’m done with the pencils of Chapter 11, but I need to ink and color and letter it – not sure when I’ll be able to do it. Sigh.

Now I better go back to writing, typing and reading… and hit that “publish” button for my other pen-names! ;-) Oh and don’t forget Books of the Immortals – Prequels made it to Kobo! And to Sony! Please go and tell Amazon of the lower (FREE) price, thank you! :-) Gee, why does it take so long for them to make it FREE?!?!?!

Have a great week!

Previous Post
Next Post

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the links! And merchandising your brand is a great idea!

    • You’re welcome (says the writer that will go to Day Job in that outfit today)! :-D

  2. they’ve figured out the free thing it seems ;)

    and I have joined the new comic site – though I am not seeing omnibus 2 yet /:) :p

    oh, and the t-shirts are a cool idea! I’m going to be giving away t-shirt transfers pretty soon, but I may have to look into something like that in the future!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 601 other followers

