Random Friday


For Viv, who is worried for Lua (and so I  am) – let’s not forget she’s Turkish! I hope she’s fine with everything going on in her country. If you want to help (especially if you’re American), please check this blog posted on Facebook by another Turkish friend of mine.

And thanks Rory for the reflection on why animals get it better than us. Like Agent Smith said “Human beings are a disease”. Let’s hope we stop doing what we’re doing – mostly hating each other and ourselves for what? Money? Religion? True we often hurt our own selves, for some unknown reason. Well, it’s peer pressure, mostly. So here’s to a future without pain and hatred, filled with love an happiness.

My two weeks off are almost over. Didn’t travel (didn’t feel like), stayed mostly at home since the dreaded heat is here (and no, thank you, no seaside for me). I’ve completed the lettering of Fleur de Lys 2 and the first part of Amazon Sisters on Tuesday, so I took a break drawing Da Muse since he’s in both (as Dominique in the comic book and as Selene’s last man in Amazon Sisters). Take a look at my favorite deviation! :)

WordPress has changed the dashboard slightly, but it’s still pretty easy. All those changes in those 3 years (going on 4)… sigh! It’s still good at catching spam – unlike Gmail who let through an email from IQelite. An invitation from an unknown person (initials only, so it qualifies as spam to me) to join this social network for high IQs… well, first of all, I don’t think my IQ is that good, and second I’M NOT LOOKING FOR A HUSBAND/BOYFRIEND/LIFE PARTNER WHATEVER YOU WANT TO CALL IT, OKAY? I’m single and I love it, so stop bothering! I’ve had enough of those dating sites some ten years ago!

Sorry, I doubt screaming it would help, but then, we’re talking about that human thing again. What’s good for you is not necessarily good for me. I’m not a family person anymore. I’m vehement about voluntary human extinction. I’m a hermit, I enjoy staying at home on my own. People tire me. What do I care of finding “someone”? I stopped believing in Prince Charming a long time ago. And since I’m a fantasy writer  (mostly), I’d rather believe in love at first sight – which most certainly will never happen online where you can’t see or feel each other…

So, no thanks. I might have a family in the common sense of the term in my next life. In this life, I’m content with Mr Writing and my babies. And again, after many years, I love that John Keats poem and fear it might come true – the first two verses struck me in my teens, and that’s the only poem I remember from high school (along with a couple of sonnets).

John Keats. 1795–1821
635. When I have Fears that I may cease to be
WHEN I have fears that I may cease to be
Before my pen has glean’d my teeming brain,
Before high pil`d books, in charact’ry,
Hold like rich garners the full-ripen’d grain;
When I behold, upon the night’s starr’d face,          5
Huge cloudy symbols of a high romance,
And feel that I may never live to trace
Their shadows, with the magic hand of chance;
And when I feel, fair creature of an hour!
That I shall never look upon thee more,   10
Never have relish in the faery power
Of unreflecting love;—then on the shore
  Of the wide world I stand alone, and think,
  Till Love and Fame to nothingness do sink.

C.S.Splitter is gone. He was even a guest here, and I wasn’t aware he was sick. So, since I’ll never know when my time will come, I better live my life how I want. Two weeks following my biorhythms – getting up, going for a walk while it’s still fresh, and then working all day, alternating writing, reading and drawing. Heaven on earth for me, total boredom for you? Sorry, I’m not saying this is the recipe for a happy life, it’s only what works for me! ;)

Have a wonderful weekend!

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. Thanks for the pingback Barb. Verrry well put. I totally agree about the state of the human race atm…and have similar hermit tendencies and have pretty much given up on finding a ‘prince charming’ too…but that’s a sore point at the moment as a prince has just reverse transformed into a frog. But that seems to be how it goes in real life. Real life is like a reverse fairytale haha ;) Have a great weekend!

    • Real life is stranger than fiction… and as writers we can make up our own prince charmings, so who cares? ;) I better put myself in my stories again, LOL!

  2. The turmoil in Turkey is worrying, so best wishes to all our Turkish friends! I hope it ends soon.

    Barb, I haven’t been around much in the last year or so. I don’t have an excuse, just that I’ve been keeping my head in the sand. But it’s good to see you here on the blogosphere again.

    Jai

    • great to hear from you, Jai!
      Yes, I’m still here, still rambling, LOL! Hope everything is fine with you – and that the madness of this world quiet down soon…

  3. I wasn’t too active on WP during the past few years, so when I returned, I was pretty shocked by how much had changed in the blogsphere. The Frehsly Pressed and the ‘likes’ button was probably the biggest change that took me a little time to get used to.

    I also love hermiting. And like yourself, people tire me. This is the very definition of introvert – we gain energy from alone-time!

    • yess, fellow hermit! Let’s band together in a group of caves like the Anasazi stone towns, LOL! We’d know when to get off each other’s toes! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

