Sunday Surprise


… and it’s another guest! I guess I’m a bit late with this, since the book came out one year ago, but better late than never… Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome J.C. Martin! :)

Author Photo 2 sWhere do you live and write from?

London, UK

When did you start writing?

I can’t honestly remember. Writing and reading have always been in my life. I wrote my first novel at 14. The first thing I remember writing is a comic series (which I also illustrated) about our family dogs.

What genre(s) do you write?

Mainly crime thrillers, but I also enjoy writing short stories, particularly in the horror genre.

Where do you find your inspiration? Do you put yourself in your stories?

I get ideas from everything around me, from topical news issues, atmospheric locations, myths and legends … even something someone says could spawn a scene, if not an entire story!

Do you have a specific writing routine?

I used to, but since Baby Martin came along I just try to squeeze writing in between feeds, nappy changes, bottle washing, and sleepless nights. I know I’m supposed to enjoy watching him grow, but I can’t wait for the day I can just dump him in a playpen beside me, and he can entertain himself while I get some writing done!

Outliner or improviser? Fast or slow writer?

Outliner. The entire novel is plotted out, chapter by chapter, before I begin writing, but I’m not afraid to go off-piste and improvise if a brilliant idea hits me. And I… am … a … verrry … sl-ooo-ow… writer…

9781937744083Tell us about your latest book

Oracle is a crime thriller about a serial killer counting down to the London Olympics by committing bizarre murders, with a grand finale planned on the largest stage of all – the Opening Ceremony of the Games.

Where to find it: Amazon, B&N, Book Depository

Indie publishing or traditional publishing – and why?

Both have their advantages and are equally viable routes to publication. Oracle is traditionally published, albeit by a small press, and I enjoy the editing and marketing support I get from my publisher. Nevertheless, I’m planning on self-publishing my horror story collection. Apart from the fact that the short story format is less attractive to publishers anyway, I like the idea that I maintain full creative control, and get to keep a large chunk of royalties.

Any other projects in the pipeline?

I’m writing a sequel to Oracle which will be book 2 of my Detective Lancer series. Tentatively titled Labyrinth, it will be set amid the twisting tunnels of the London Underground network.

I’m also working on a collection of horror stories (as yet untitled). The common theme of these stories is the potential for horror in the everyday.

What is your goal as a writer and what are you doing to achieve it?

To be able to pay the bills doing what I love. The only way to do this is to keep churning out those stories, and hope for the best!

CONTACT: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. An interesting interview, Barb. I wouldn’t have imagined that an author of crime-thrillers with the name J.C. Martin could be a woman :)

    • a.k.a. the Fighter Writer! ;) She knows Kung-fu! Or is it Karate? Well, she knows some Asian martial arts for sure! :)

      • Thanks for reading Shafali. J.C.’s my initials and Martin’s my married name. LOL, Barb got it right the first time: I teach Kung Fu and have a second degree black belt in it. :)

  2. P.S. Thank you Barb for having me over on your lovely blog!

    • it was high time, since you had me on yours at least one year ago if not more… where did time go! :(
      Glad to have you! :)

  3. London Underground! That sounds cool. And don’t worry, I’m a very slow writer as well. (And a devoted outliner.)

  4. Sue

     /  18/06/2013

    I highly recomend J.C.’s book. What amazes me is how this sweet lady can get her characters to do really bad stuff!

  5. Way to go JC. Good luck with your book.

  1. J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer - Sunday Surprise ... on a Tuesday
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

