Random Friday


Mighty Jo awarded me again. I’m copy-pasting what this is all about:

willowdot21 AKA Shaun has started a new award, and  here is what Shaun had to say.

“This is an award for everyone who is part of the “Word Press Family” I start this award on the basis that the WordPress family has taken me in, and showed me love and a caring side only WordPress can. The way people take a second to be nice, to answer a question and not make things a competition amazes me here. I know I have been given many awards, but I wanted to leave my own legacy on here by creating my own award, as many have done before. This represents “Family” we never meet, but are there for us as family. It is my honour to start this award”

wordpress-family-awardRules:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 10 others you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family.
  4. Let your 10 Family members know you have awarded them.
  5. That is it. Just please pick 10 people that have taken you as  a friend, and spread the love.

I really like this award, as I love WordPress! Yes, it really feels like a family, so let’s see if I can find 10 other WordPressers to pass this on…

Bollywood Addict

Shafali the caricaturist

Vivienne Tuffnell

Rohan Healy

Laxmi Hariharan

Tricia Kristufek

Miss Kitty Roads

Nora Weston

Madison Woods

Bluetrix Books.

I don’t know about your side of the world, but here the weather is crazy and my health is going up and down like a yo-yo (raise hands whoever knows what a yo-yo is – I guess my younger readers will have no idea, LOL!). I want to sleep but I sleep badly. Mood swings follow the weather – hot and then cold and then hot and then cold. And it’s probably not even an approaching menopause, but a crazy tyroid, which apparently affects 30% of women. Especially women who were alive in 1986, IMHO. Why? Chernobil. Did you really think the radiations would stop at Russia’s borders? No way. The whole of Europe got it. And it’s starting to show.

That’s the sci-fi writer speaking – well, that’s what Kol-ian tells Daniele and Chantal when they come back to Earth in 2002. Those lucky two left in 1982, so they’d probably die if they breathed the air we have now! ;) Anyhow, I think there’s some truth to the above statement – even if I used it in my fiction. And then we had another nuclear disaster in 2011. So we’re all fucked up – and don’t seem to be able to stop. Like Agent Smith said during the last year of the 20th century, “Human beings are a disease.” And we haven’t learned anything since. I might have skipped Earth’s Day, but it’s because I don’t believe in those silly “days” – we should respect each other and our planet every single day, not only on specific dates. Sigh.

Spent yesterday (Italian holiday) trying that Kindle Comic Creator – interesting. It makes better mobi files, but with SKYBAND I should probably try the panel-by-panel reading, except it seems to put the page and then the single panels. And the parts in prose it can’t detect, so unless I put some kind of frame around them, they’d still be unreadable.

Anyway, I now have a decent mobi file of Fleur de Lys 1, so I might upload that to KDP during the weekend. When I’m not writing Shooting Star (brand new beginning, by the way, and it’s going ways I never expected. I even get to explore S’lyss’s private life as Governor of Gaia! ;)) or revising the body switch that will go out to editors on Monday, that is! :) Have a wonderful weekend and more guests coming in May! :)

UPDATE: found this wonderful drawing on DA and thought it was perfect for today’s rambling!

humans_again__by_naolito-d5rnxhw

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. Hope you feel better soon! I have been up and down myself – like one of those cool light up yo yos. ;) I wish the weather would get settled…

    You’re probably right about Chernobyl! I lived near a contaminated site in Iowa for a few years and I am sure it had adverse effects on me. Everyone I know from that area is sickly, has bad teeth and thinning hair. At least the government has finally sort of admitted that there is radioactive waste buried all over there and that the water “may be” contaminated…. *rolls eyes* I think we’re all going to see health effects from this mess in Fukishima, too.

    • those cover-ups… studying the old ones for Shooting Star, but we’re still lied to, I think! Ah, well, we can’t have it all…
      Got 3 sales on Apple via D2D yesterday (and 2 were from one of my colleagues, I checked because he told me he bought 2 books and found I had 4 sales, so 1 was unexpected) – can’t find the amount I’m due yet, but it’s certainly much faster reporting than Smashwords! :) Will write an article for SPAL about it as soon as I see the first payment! ;)

  2. Viv

     /  26/04/2013

    Thanks for the nomination!
    Sorry you’re feeling rubbish; not much better here. I was expecting to wait another 13 weeks for my appointment at hospital for the awful symptoms lately but after a phone call this morning, it’s only a month to wait.
    There are strange global or even cosmic changes going on. It’ll settle eventually, for all of us, I keep telling myself this. So keep on keeping on!!
    xx

    • You’re welcome! :) You are part of the WordPress family for me from almost the beginning! ;)
      I think most of those strange global changes are man-made… but if we’re influenced by the cosmic changes I can’t tell. Yes, it will settle, it’s the Age of the Aquarius, the era of peace. The ugly remnants of the previous cycle just stick to this reality and don’t want to go away, affecting us all. But we shall overcome! :)
      Hugs

  3. Thanks for the nomination Barb! I’ve been back-reading a little on your blog and catching up on what I’ve missed lately. Sorry you’ve been feeling poorly. I too know what a yo-yo is, and have been experiencing “symptoms” like you mentioned. But they passed and now all is returned to normal for a LONG while, I hope.

    • You’re welcome! :)
      I hope to return to normal too soon – as soon as the medicine kicks in… sigh! :(

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 668 other followers

