Random Friday


Welcome to random Friday! I’m going to start with last weekend procrastination techniques: drawing! ;) It’s a hobby, at least when I do colored pencil portraits like the ones I uploaded on my DeviantART gallery. I’m also supposed to draw my graphic novel, but my one and only reader has learned patience (didn’t you, Jo? ;)) – yes, I still have to get to that #13. Sigh.

Anyhow, you can check the rest on DeviantART, I’m posting here only this “experiment” – black (HB & 2B) pencils for the skin, colors only for hair, eyes, lips and background. Last drawing I did like this was in 1997. And the previous from the late 1980…

Hrithik16cut_resizeI won’t post the old ones, but the first “model” was Simon Le Bon (so 80s – yeah, I was a Duranie, but Simon was not my favorite, LOL), the second Leonardo DiCaprio (pre or post-Titanic? Hm. Can’t remember) and now, well, just saying it for the new followers – that’s Bollywood star Hrithik Roshan. I also did Da Muse last weekend – except can’t find new pics of him, so I had to use one from the 1980s and one more recent. I’ve really drawn all the pics I could get my hands on (and that’s 10% of the grand total, LOL!)! Obsessed much? Nah.

Now, tomorrow I may or may not go to Fiuggi for the Deepcon. I know I’ll see my friend Maurizio Manzieri in Torino Comics anyway, but there will be also my fellow Chicon panelist Luigi Petruzzelli, so I don’t know. We’ll see how I feel in the morning, which means… Sunday Surprise. Yeah, it’s always a surprise anyway, I know.

By the way – dear new followers, this blog has Sunday Surprises, which means that if you’d like to do a guest post and ramble about you, what you do and/or what you like, just leave a comment or contact me at creativebarbwire (at) gmail (dot) com and we’ll set up a date. You can do like Tricia and Katy and Peter K.Lean. You don’t need to have your own blog to participate. You don’t need to be a writer either. And it won’t be for this Sunday anyway, otherwise where is the surprise? ;)

On another topic, I’m not sure if I should celebrate or start crying right now, but 25 years ago I started my adventure with DayJob. Which had changed more in the past 10 years than in the previous 15. But then – the whole world has changed more in the past 10 years than in the previous century, so who am I to complain? What bothers me most is that with this financial crisis, I’m even supposed to thank them for giving me a job – but sometimes I really wish they’d fire me so I can concentrate on indie publishing and drawing and creating other stuff instead… Except I’m too old to be fully exploited and too young to retire, so they’ll have to keep me, haha not-so-haha. Sigh.

Ending the random randomness with some Star Trek Classical Series (the only one I ever watched, in case you’re wondering) and a chuckle:

My comment: that’s why I love Galaxy Quest and Sam Rockwell’s Guy “who dies in the episode”!

Guy Fleegman: I’m not even supposed to be here. I’m just “Crewman Number Six.” I’m expendable. I’m the guy in the episode who dies to prove how serious the situation is. I’ve gotta get outta here.

Not to mention all the other wonderful quotes! That’s the best spoof of Star Trek that was ever made! ;) Never give up, never surrender! :D

Now I’m going back to struggle with that story (gee, maybe I’ll just throw it away, but I need to do at least a first try) which is a sort of summary with omniscient narrator (that was my style way back when – I didn’t know about points of views and third person limited, and didn’t have any beta-readers shouting at me I was going too fast, I was telling and not showing and all those wonderful mistakes newbies do. Glad it’s still unpublished, LOL!) and needs a lot of work.

I might throw in a movie or two after dinner, but nothing new, so no reviews coming, sorry! ;) And I need to read my 2 monthly mags before I start a new e-book… so hopefully next week I can tell you something about my reading. This week – nada. Have a wonderful weekend! :)

Previous Post

3 Comments

  1. A beautiful portrait of Hrithik :) I love the way you’ve played with those lights and shadows. So…can I participate in your Sunday Surprise once again? Not for the coming three Sundays though. I could do something different and tell your visitors about “what I do?” which I didn’t in my previous post. Do you want to talk about your comic books and graphic novels on my blog? Tell us something about what a graphic novel is and how you go about creating one.
    I’d love to have you as a guest author :)
    S

  1. The Mother of all Awards Posts! Also My Last… | rohan7things
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 668 other followers

