Writer Wednesday


O-okay, new week… and as of Tuedsay night I feel aready a wreck. Anyway, I managed to rewrite the Death of Queen Amazonia, so I should be able to send it out to beta/editor soon. Today I hope to work on Star Minds 3, although I already added a few words, expanding a scene (because in the previous book I went after Kol-ian, in this book I’m going after Ker-ris, so I wrote his breakdown). But I still need to add stuff about other characters’s POV – okay, I’m biased, I’d talk only about Kol-ian and Ker-ris if it was just me! :)

This week’s links: Lulu is taking out DRM from all e-books, let’s hope everybody will do the same soon. I  don’t have ebooks on Lulu, but I still have some DRMed books on Kobo, they don’t seem to be able to fix the issue. So, if you’ve got a Kobo reader and you see the Kobo file is DRMed, go to Smashwords instead (where, by the way, you find more free titles…).

One of my favorite historical publishers for researches on weapons, armies and castles, Osprey, has opened a fiction line – although there’s no  submission guidelines anywhere. I have two dozens of the military history books from Osprey (mostly about Middle Ages, but not only the European Middle Ages…), but some day I’d like to try their Myths&Legends books – althought the alien’s guide to conquering Earth looks fun too! ;)

Kris Rusch on editorial revisions – and don’t forget the comments. Read it even if you’re an editor – and I look forward to the post for indie authors as well. Never had an editor-with-an-attitude before, but makes me not want to work with traditional publishers, haha! :D

David Farland on dealing with large casts – a problem that plagued most of my earlier works, with lots of characters and omniscient narrator. I still have multiple POV characters, but trust me, they’re much less than what they used to be! :) And I’m told I’m not the only one, althought the other writers usually write 800pages books and I’m around 200, but that’s me… I’m the queen of summaries, hehe! ;)

Now, Mighty Joleene gave me a blog award, and because I so love the picture, I had to post it, even if I don’t copy those awards on the sidebar anymore! :) But I’ve added it to the blog award page. She said I don’t need to do anything to pass this on except nominate a few bloggers, so here I go…

Vivienne Tuffnell

Shafali the Caricaturist

Nafees

Chronotraveler

Laxmi Hariharan

You guys just shine on and pass on this neat little image if you wish! :) If not, just shine on, watch the shooting stars, and be happy! Have a wonderful week!

Previous Post
Next Post

8 Comments

  1. I love the Shine On picture too. It’s from an anime series called Chobits, which I have on DVD! :)

    • It does look Japanese, but the last anime I watch was still on VHS, LOL! :D
      I’m also reading less manga these days… :(

      • You should watch Chobbits – It’s a fun one. My cat Hideki is named after the male lead character in fact ;)

        • no time… :( reading too many manuscripts these days! ;)

  2. aw thanks a lot, Barb :)

  3. Thanks for thinking about me :) I think you need a break from work…I know I do. How are the Hindi classes coming along? I find it rather easy to learn scripts, but I know that can’t learn to speak a new language…never, ever :)

    • I need a break from DayJob, that’s for sure. Writing is not work for me! ;)
      Hush, Hindi teacher is now stalking the blog (because I gave him the addy, of course), so I won’t comment on that – yet! ;) But I grew up with 2 languages and then learned English, so why not add a fourth… although the new alphabet is killing me (but not as much as it’s killing my fellow student, LOL!)! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

