Random Friday


49TANTI AUGURI, FEDERICO!

Sorry, that was for my one and only beloved nephew who turns 8 today (can’t believe it, where did time go?!), hoping one of his parents shows him the message. I’m trying to teach him English, but now he’s too smart to tell him I forgot how to speak Italian and he must talk in English to me, LOL! So I’ll just let him play with PBS Kids whenever he visits me…

And because he’s going to get his own copy of the DVD from his grand mother (a.k.a. my mum), I got myself Ice Age 4, so I’ll have something to discuss with him when I see him – maybe tomorrow at the official b-day party, maybe who knows. I should start buying those movies abroad, so I have only the English voices and if he wants to watch them, he’ll have to watch them in English, LOL! ;) Anyway, 4th instalment is as funny as the previous ones – I like the boot of Italy kicking away Sicily and screaming “Goal!” at the very beginning. And we all know it’s all Scrat’s fault if the continents drifted, right? Looks like there might be a #5… In the extras there was a summary of the first 3 – boy the first was from 2002! Ten years later we got 4… and that’s the only series with talking animals I can bear to watch  because, hey, they’re extinct anyway, LOL!

In random order. The book I finished last week – Devil’s Lair by David Wiseheart. I liked it because it’s original historical fantasy. I didn’t really like it because I’m Italian and it gave me high school nightmares with all that Latin, Dante and poetry, LOL! :) Thank God I’ve forgotten everything about that time period, so if there were inconsistencies, I’m not aware of them. Besides, it’s historical fantasy, so anything goes. I admit I skipped the Latin and poetry bits – but that’s just me. Also, the first half is much slower than the second half, the trip through Hell feels rushed compared to the set up.

The first Hindi lesson *waves at Giovanni and Vijay in case they’re visiting the blog* – interesting! ;) Here’s the first page of my brand new notebook (I filled 3 while in the classroom – then I’ll have to do more before Tuesday):

HindiNow, you native speakers, please don’t comment, unless you plan to learn a brand new alphabet when you’re close to 50, okay? ;) Now I have more excercises to do, and maybe by the end of the year I’ll be able to write a short note of some kind, LOL. Maybe. I have a good ear for languages, but when it comes to writing… that’s another matter! But if I can do this, I can start Japanese afterward! :D

This week read: Ashes of deceit by Joleene Naylor (a.k.a. book 4 of her Amaranthine series). Fellow Sadist Author did a great job on her poor characters, I’m not surprised sometimes they take over her blog and try to rebel – but they have no power over us, mwhahahahaha! :D Ahem, sorry. I can’t have spoilers here, but the author knows about my favorite scene. I also liked seeing Verchiel a little… different than his usual impossible self! ;) Anyway, here’s the GR/Amazon/Smashwords review:

Another instalment in my favorite vampire series – and I’m not a vampire fan, in case you’re wondering. My first and last vampires books were the first 3 Ann Rice’s books in the late 1990s and I was so NOT impressed that I quit after Queen of the Damned and thought I’d never read another vampire book after those 3. Then comes the new millennium, blogging and Joleene Naylor. Now I’ll have to wait for book 5, gah!
Anyway, I still love her humor, her perfect balance of adult themes and gore, and her crazy characters who often take over her blog, so you better follow that as well. Sometimes I feel sorry for Katelina and Jorick – will they ever be free? ;) And what is really going on in Verchiel’s head? Only the author will tell…

Okay, on Smashwords I might have posted it twice or not at all. I’ll check again today. If I posted it twice, sorry, but it didn’t show – anyway, I don’t think anyone will complain for a double 5-star review, right? ;) Have a great weekend, everyone!

Previous Post

8 Comments

  1. Fine. I won’t comment.
    – S

    • Thank you, Shafali! :) And thanks for the link – this weekend I’ve got homework… (yes, I’m procrastinating again today, LOL!)! :D

  2. no problem, leave as many five star reviews as you want, LOL!!

    seriously though, thanks for the great review!! I am on my second read through – hoping to finish today, so you should have something in your inbox this weekend :)

    • yeah, I saw it came out twice… blame it on Smashwords… although you can’t really edit your reviews anywhere except on Goodreads! :(
      yay! *does the happy dance*
      BTW, Star Minds 3 is almost done, if you want to check the expanded Mind Link before diving into the new one… ;)

  3. Hmm…the happy dance. I’m trying to visualize you doing a happy dance. Your nephew is a handsome young boy, and you can’t hide that by adding all those blurs. Hmmph!

    • something Bollywoodish – except I never move my body, so it looks very clumsy, LOL! I’ve found a few workshops witih Sunny Singh next weekend close to where I live – but I’ll probably pass now. I stil have to do my Hindi homework, gaaah!
      BTW, Giovanni thanks you for the link, it was what he was looking for! ;)
      And I haven’t managed to hug my nephew yet – it felt VERY weird wishing him a happy b-day on the phone…

  4. O ice weekend with mr, honey sing , Batter to u, before learn Hindi

    • Hai, sensei!
      ops, sorry, that’s Japanese… trying to learn too many languages at the same time! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 670 other followers

