Random Friday


Here’s the annual WordPress report! And there’s even the 2011 report at the bottom, in case you’re new and would like to know where I come from! ;) So here you go – see if you’re in it and Happy 2013! :D  jump to the end of the post for this! ;) And as the snow seems to have stopped, I’m going back to the “old” theme now! (It’s the last edit on this post, I promise!)

Speaking of blog stats (I know, it’s total randomness today, LOL!), December 2012 came third for number of visits, behind January 2011 and May 2011. Let me think, what did I do in those months… January 2011 I published my first title on Smashwords, Jessamine, and I was regularly doing Six Sentence Sunday. May 2011… I don’t know. BoI – Air came out in March and BoI – Fire in June… who knows who stopped by in May and for what reason, LOL! Anyway, thanks to the almost 30.000 views in 3 years – not much compared to other authors or bloggers, but I’m not complaining, LOL!

On another random topic – I had to buy a new graphic tablet for my laptop. The Bamboo tablet worked on the old Desktop, but I discovered it wouldn’t install on Laptop. Techie Bro said maybe it was an old driver (it’s from 2008 – obsolete in technology, I’m afraid! ;)), so he tried to download a new version from the internet, but it still wouldn’t install.

So I bought a cheap one or I wouldn’t be able to color things with Photoshop. I mean, I tried one, and it was like having a normal mouse instead of a pressure sensitive pen! So far I had done only lettering on Laptop, but when I tried to color a new drawing, I discovered the Bamboo tablet wasn’t actually working. Now this one has a heavier pen, but it seems to work… results will be shown ASAP.

I also bought a new cell phone that is a non-smart phone. Another Nokia where I can put my MP3 mini-card and use it as MP3 reader as well. That’s the only fancy thing it does! ;) Oh, yes, it can go online if I really wanted it to, but no, I don’t want it to. I access e-mail and social networks from Laptop, I don’t need them on the phone. I’ll keep the tri-band Motorola for my trips to the US, of course.

I’ve set my reading goals for 2013 on Goodreads – 65 books, hoping to take down that TBR list/pile a little. Although I know there will be more titles coming out this year and the wishlist will not stay static (well, the printed books might not grow, but the e-books…. whine! I love my Kindle, but it sucks time out of writing! ;)).

I spent New Year’s eve watching movies (or trying to, I have 2 DVD readers and one get overheated after a couple of hours – read “long Bollywood movies need to be watched in 2 parts or the end would be a pain” – and the other is so cheap it usually reads everything, but not always). I stopped trying re-watching Namastey London and struggled to watch the end of Kabul Express, but then… at least midnight arrived without me falling asleed, LOL! Oh, and I spent it on Facebook, in case you were wondering… I even updated my author status, LOL!

So… HAPPY NEW YEAR and have a great weekend! :)

EDIT – after Shafali’s comment, I’m trying to copy/paste the “shared” version of the annual report. I didn’t want it to come out on its own, as it would upset my post-count. Here goes:

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 8,400 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 14 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. December’s always low on visits :) It’s on account of the Holiday season. I couldn’t see your report (members only message flashed on my screen) – but I hope I am there as one of your commentators.

    A new tablet :) That sounds good. I’ll wait for the new drawings. I bought a Bamboo pen last year (thought I’d draw a little on my iPad, but my drawings are usually a lot more detailed, so it didn’t work.)

    65 Books! You mean it? (You can’t see my raised eyebrows because they’ve disappeared behind my hair.)

    Enjoy those 65 books…
    (still wondering…did you mean 6.5?)

    • try again, and yes, you’re in it. Actually both in 2009 and 2012, as far as I can remember, visits peaked on this blog. Not sure about 2010 and 2011, but for those two (the first and the latest) that’s how it went! ;)
      And yes, I mean sixty-five books – which means 65 titles that can be from a short story to a long book. Although I don’t think I’ll read any of the longer books if I want to get to that total (read: A Game of Throne will be on the TBR list for another year. It’s a paper book I bought in London a couple of years ago and still have to start it, LOL).
      As for the number, it’s my year of birth, not a random one. First year on GR I read 40+ books, last year 50+, so I thought this year I could try 60+, but won’t cry if I don’t make it! :)

      • 65! My head is still reeling…but anything’s possible when we speak of Ms. Barbwire.
        I clicked the link at the bottom and that worked. I am there…twice. Now why twice? Perhaps they differentiate between the comments made by a wpblogger (when you are logged into your blogging account) and made by someone who uses her email account.

        Looking forward to another year of flooding your blog with comments :)

        - S

        • WordPress mysteries, LOL! Looking forward to being flooded! :D

  2. I need to learn to use a tablet someday… I’m still mousing everything :p I have a cheapy i bought some time back that I briefly tried to learn to use but it was a learning curve (being used to the mouse for so many years) and I got impatient.

    • It was tough at the beginning for me (and I’m still behind on the capacities of Photoshop – now I’ve even gone back to a Photoshop 7.0 because that’s all I could get on Laptop, along with Photoshop Elements that looks even weirder), but now I’d rather use the pen than the mouse! :)
      The cheap Wacom tablet (more expensive than the one I got) had no pen, meaning I was supposed to draw with my finger! :( I’m not Linus of Peanuts who is used to draw in the air! :( I so hate “touch” technology… that’s why I bought a Kindle Keyboard! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

