Writer Wednesday


First I’d like to thank sweet Steve Campbell for handing me the Super Sweet Blogging Award. I’m not a big fan of sweets myself, but here goes!

The rules are:

  •   Show-off the award on your blog.
  •   Thank the super-sweet blogger who nominated you.
  •   Answer five super-sweet questions about yourself.
  •   Nominate your favorite super-sweet bloggers.

Showing off my award:

The super-sweet questions and my answers:

1. Cookies or cakes?

Cookies.

2. Chocolate or vanilla?

Vanilla or white chocolate

3. Favorite sweet treat?

not too fond of sweets – okay, I love caramel, so anything with caramel in it

4. When do you crave for sweets the most?

not very often

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?

I can’t have a sweet nickname, I’m an old spinster or a snarky icy lady! ;)

I now nominate the following super-sweet bloggers:

Joleene Naylor (yes, she writes about vampires, but I think she’s very sweet!)

Laxmi Hariharan

Shafali (I know “sweet caricaturist” might sound like an oxymoron, but it’s not in this case)

and anyone who feels sweet enough to answer the above questions and pass this on! :)

Now, a little help to choose a cover for Six Months. I’ve had contrasting replies offline, so I thought I’d run it through my blog as well. Let’s have a little blurb here:

He is a happy workaholic bachelor.

She doesn’t believe in fairy tales anymore.

The difficulties on being single after 40 – and having to find a relationship to conform to peer pressure.

Which one looks more “on topic”?

Left (Photographic background) or right (graphically nicer, I think…). Decisions…

Anyway, while I wait for the Editor to check what I’ve done, I’m writing a few short stories for further publication. Although I think these novellas are probably more interesting to readers. B.G. Hope’s only longer title is my best seller at the moment – a dozen copies on Kindle, which means a dozen readers, not 1 or 2.

I’m almost ready with Star Minds book 1 as well. The Technological Angel is almost ready to take the flight.

As I was traveling last week, I didn’t really think about Thanksgiving (also because I’m not American, in case you forgot! ;)), and the latest Writing World newsletter had been sent to the spam folder. Glad I always check before deleting, LOL! Anyway, I loved Moira Allen’s article on thanks and mostly the last part about what writers MUST do – I won’t do it, unless I’m having fun doing it, and that’s final. So don’t look for me on Twitter, you won’t find me there. And even if I do have a Facebook page and this blog, my best selling pen name doesn’t have anything, so how’s that for marketing gurus? ;)

Also Kris Rusch’s is an interesting thanks-giving post about writing and publishing changes of this year, and what we should be thankful for – writing-wise. Choice and Freedom, mostly (as mentioned also by her husband in the post mentioned below), but also the world-wide web. My readers can be anywhere from Europe to Asia to Africa to America to Oceania! :) As long as they speak English and have an internet access, they can find and enjoy my stories – when in the history of publishing has this ever been possible?

I also love Dean Wesley Smith’s summary of 2012 in publishing. Yes, I’m one of those authors who don’t really have print books yet, but then… I’m not American, how am I supposed to get my books in US bookshops from Italy? Besides, Lulu is the only one who bothered sending me the letter for the IRS to get my ITIN (I give up trying to get one from Smashwords – and they’re the only ones who have paid me so far, sigh!), so for this year I’ll stick with them. Next year… is another year, so we’ll see! ;)

Desktop is with Techie Bro – hoping it recovers as I still need it to finish SKYBAND (not to mention the fact that I need my emails on Laptop, and he hasn’t copied any of them yet. I hope I won’t lose all of them, sigh). I’ll probably buy a new printer soon as well – yeah, before Xmas. Now off to writing more! :)

Previous Post
Next Post

8 Comments

  1. Thanks for the award! :D

    I like #2 better, though not a huge fan of the color… it’s kind of bright (on this monitor anyway) maybe try a different shade?

    • I had pink, but according to someone it felt too “teenagers” (and they’re 40something). I thought I’d put the color of the 7th chakra (indigo) as their love is kinda pure… maybe another shade of indigo?

  2. #2, especially as I know beforehand that the characters would probably be in your usual style :)

    • that’s the one I prefer too – but again, maybe a different shade of indigo?

  3. Hey! I just noticed that you’ve passed the award on to me too. Aren’t you super-sweet? You’ve got to have a sweet nick-name. Let me pick one for you :) How do you like Barbie? ;-)

    • nononononono! Unfortunately my sister (who is Madhuri Dixit’s twin, you think Mads would swap places with her? ;)) used to tease me with the “Barbie” nickname because of the namesake doll (I’m not a Pamela Anderson blonde like the doll, so I really hated it)… so please find something else! :)

  4. Oh…but I don’t know any other bloggers…really. Who would I pass it along to?! I really need to get out and meet people…I mean really. But then, I love my isolation.
    So, here are my answers:

    1. Cookies or cakes?
    None. While I like sweet people, sweet dogs, sweet cats…I don’t like sweets! But if there’s nothing else left on this planet to eat, I’ll take two cookies, please.

    2. Chocolate or vanilla?

    I am not partial. I dislike them equally.

    3. Favorite sweet treat?

    A sweet word, or two, or thousand…I mean, why stop?

    4. When do you crave for sweets the most?

    When I am out of my mind.

    5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?

    Sans-Swee(t)

    Thanks a ton for the award, my sweet friend :)

    • you’re very welcome, my sweet friend! :) I’m also a non-sweets person, so it was kinda hard for me as well to answer those questions… why do people crave sweets or chocolate? No idea… :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 678 other followers

