Random Friday


So, busy week, but still found time to relax a little after dinner. I watched the DVD box with 3 African-American movies I got from Wallmart in NY last August.

Deliver us from Eva is a fun rom-com – and LL Cool J is hot, LOL! Eva looks very cold (much like me), but eventually shows her real self – and she has a reason or two to be so tough. I like the way it starts (a la American Beauty) and then goes totally somewhere else – it is a comedy, but I also got some tears at the end… Anyway, people are people, no matter their color, and when they fall in love… they fall in love, even if they were not supposed to!

Which is basically what happens in Something New where black girl falls in love with white guy… having had a crush on a black guy, I could relate, LOL! Didn’t work out for me, but glad it worked for them. I mean, even IBM (Ideal Black Man – what did you think? ;)) Blair Underwood was handsome, and even if I’m not a blond-guy person (unless it’s Brad Pitt clean-shaven and with long hair, LOL), Simon Baker was a good match. Poor girl had a really hard choice to make! :D

Finally The Best Man, which is the reason why I bought the box because it’s about a writer. His ARC goes out to his friends who recognize themselves in his book… rom-com again, but about the consequences of writing what you know, LOL! Hence I prefer writing fantasy, just in case! ;) Just kidding, I also write contemporary stuff, but now that I write in English, it’s harder for my friends to recognize themselves in my stories – for various reasons! :D

I’ve decided to start putting drawings on DeviantART about Star Minds. I made a characters study folder for them, although some will be used as covers from the e-books. If you’d like to have a look… The print version will have another cover, but the single e-books will have one of those. I plan on doing many more about the other characters as I want to write short stories about them, so hopefully next year I’ll fill that folder! :)

Boy, that was short… sorry, guess I’m not very talkative this week. Hope to recover next week with a few days off and in London. There don’t seem to be any Bollywood movies in Leicester Square next week, but you never know… Maybe when I get there I find one! Otherwise, I’ll go DVD hunting as usual, LOL!

Wishing you a wonderful weekend…

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. Viv

     /  16/11/2012

    Have a super time in London and I am so sorry I couldn’t get in to meet you. next time, then!

    • Absolutely! :)
      I’ll take it veeery slow, trust me. Life rolls or health problems are to let us know we should slow down. And I will! ;)

  2. loved your post this time :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 639 other followers

