Sunday Guest – Michelle Davidson Argyle and her latest release


I read Cinders when it was self-published (I have the signed dead tree copy, yay!), I interviewed the author on this very blog at that time (can’t believe it was 2 years ago! Where did time go?) and now I’m proud to have read her latest release, Bonded. It has three novellas, the aforementioned Cinders (which was as much a pleasure to read as it was the first time), Thirds and Scales.

SHORT DESCRIPTION OF BONDED
What happened after Cinderella married her prince? How did the evil sorceress in Sleeping Beauty turn evil in the first place? Discover these stories and a world filled with magic, forbidden love, elves, sprites, dragons, and the most powerful creatures of all—the fairies —in Bonded, a collection of three fairy tale inspired novellas. Based on three fairy tales, Bonded contains a fairy tale continuation (Cinderella), a fairy tale retelling (One-Eye, Two-Eyes, Three-­Eyes), and a fairy tale prequel (Sleeping Beauty).

My review: It’s been two years since I read Cinders, so it was like reading it for the first time. I still enjoy this dark version of the happily ever after, and what happens after the fairy tale ends. I’m not familiar with the original fairy tale on which Thirds is based, so I can’t compare, but I liked this version, although there was a little too much whimpering at the end. I think Scales was my favorite because it’s based mostly in the faery realm – and then it has a dragon. I found it very touching as well, exploring all the aspects of love (for family or other).  I recommend this book to all fairy tales lovers, as long as you’re not enamored with the Disney versions (which are not the best versions, IMHO – personally, I hate all those talking animals)!

Now, Michelle was kind enough to stop by for a guest post at the end of her blog tour. Ladies and gents, please welcome the “fairy tale lady!”, Michelle Davidson Argyle!

WHEN YOUR WRITING CAREER THROWS A CURVE BALL

 by Michelle Davidson Argyle

I think one of the easiest things for a writer to do is let the publishing world overwhelm them. Whether or not a writer is published, selling your work for money is a daunting concept. Most novelists pour their heart and soul into their books. Attaching a price to that seems insane, at best. But we do it! We want to share our work more than anything, so we work at it until we reach publication status. Then, I think the hardest part begins … dealing with the publishing world. It’s no land of happy cupcakes, that’s for sure. It’s unfair, for the most part, and busy and slow at the same time. It’s filled with easy traps like comparing yourself and your books to other authors and books. And it’s a whole heck of a lot more work than I think most writers anticipate.

So what happens if you find yourself where you thought you always wanted to be, but unhappy because everything is just too much to handle? Do you just snap your fingers and change your way of thinking? Realize how good you have it and just move on? Some people can do that, but when I found myself in this situation (and sometimes I still do), I’ve had to make some major life changes (usually small, but major in that they do require time and energy) in order to cope and keep writing and publishing. Here are a few things I try to do periodically:

1.     Write down what I’m grateful for. This is best done on a 21-day cycle. For 21 days, I write down three things I am grateful every single day. It gets to be challenging after awhile, but it sure opens my eyes! I think I will do this at least once a year.

2.     Tell my publisher, my friends, my family, EVERYONE, that I need a break. You’d be surprised how many people will be understanding and step back to let you breathe.

3.     Write down everything horribly wrong in my life in one big, long ranting journal entry, and then replace all that negative emotion by doing something I love with people I love. Usually, whatever I choose to do to replace the negative emotions has nothing to do with writing at all.

4.     Take time to organize my thoughts and get to the root of why I’m feeling overwhelmed. I can do this by talking to a trusted friend, or making lists. If I can pull up that root of negativity and deal with it by itself, instead of clouding it with a million other things, I have a good chance of healing whatever wounds have inflicted me.

Putting yourself out there is scary. I’ve noticed it doesn’t get any easier. Things tend to shift. What was a problem for me a year ago isn’t a problem anymore, but other issues have cropped up. I think it’s important to assess where we’re at in our lives and make proper adjustments before things get too out of control. Don’t let curveballs catch you off guard!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Michelle lives and writes in Utah, surrounded by the Rocky Mountains. She loves the seasons, but late summer and early fall are her favorites. She adores chocolate, sushi, and lots of ethnic food, and loves to read and write books in whatever time she can grab between her sword–‐wielding husband and energetic daughter. She believes a simple life is the best life. You can find Michelle on her blog, http://theinnocentflower.blogspot.com.

The Innocent Flower

Bonded is available now! You can find it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other online book retailers, both as an e-­book and in print. Find it for a discounted price on the publisher’s website.

Thank you, Michelle, for stopping by my blog and best wishes for your latest release!

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me!

  2. Great review. I’m gonna have to pick this up.
    And the advice is wonderful as well. I’m overwhelmed sometimes just THINKING about what it takes to be a writer.

    • passion, mostly. If you love writing and telling stories, there’s no stopping you. Getting published… that’s another story – whichever path you choose! ;)

  3. love that cover!

    • ain’t it cool? And it has more inside the book! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 643 other followers

