Writer Wisdom Sunday


Every Sunday until December and unless I have a guest, I will share words of wisdom from writers on writing. Enjoy!

That’s why I was able to do so much. Because, if it had been for money or any of those other things – fame, or accolades or whatever – I would never have been able to put the energy into it. It’s why I’ve been so prolific. Because if you’re having this much fun, you don’t want to stop.”

- Stephen J. Cannell, screenwriter

That’s what reminds me how much published writers have in common with aspiring writers. There’s no magic milestone at which professional writers become immune to any of the fears/doubts/concerns that emerging writers feel. Getting responses from fans or bloggers feels to me like the published writer’s equivalent of sitting through a workshop. I’ve certainly watched the look of horror on the faces of people being critiqued as the workshop careens off into speculation of where the writer’s story should go. Different venues; similar substance.

- David Anthony Durham

So, with all that said, I’m very excited. The ebook revolution means that I have the freedom to write whatever I want and get it out there as soon as it’s ready for mass consumption. No longer do I have to slave over a proposal and hope that an editor in New York understands the scope of the project, gets excited, can then pitch it to a room full of supposed experts, gets the green light to acquire it, makes a decend offer (lol), and then tells me the book will be out in about a year. Now, if I have an idea I think is cool, I can just write the thing and put it out. If it flops, no biggie. If it’s a hit – all the better. But the amount of time and number of hoops to jump through for me to reach my readers has now been drastically winnowed.

- John F.Merz, author

Like anything in this business, once new writers think that’s the only way things are done, they defend the practice like it’s a golden rule. And since traditional publishing was the only game in town for the last forty years, writers really had no choice but to write longer and longer, even though in many cases, it wasn’t a natural length for the story being told.

- Dean Wesley Smith

If you truly believe you’ve got something there, it’s important to not give up on it too quickly. Those first five drafts are probably not going to be good enough.

- Eric R.Cohen, screenwriter

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 687 other followers

