Random Friday


My good friend Shafali the Caricaturist made a case for lefties and as I have one in the family and today is his Onomastico (Saint Day?), I’ll wish my dear brother Lorenzo a Buon Onomastico! :) He’s the Paris-born misunderstood genius of the family – like most lefties, that is. They’re usually underestimated by their contemporaries (see Leonardo Da Vinci), so don’t worry, Shafali, I’ll always be rooting for you guys! ;) Hey, even my hairdresser is a lefty, and I’m seeing her today, so I better be good to you guys, or she’ll ruin my looks, LOL!

As for my brother, he even had a double nationality at birth, just because he was born in France. The French didn’t care he had Italian parents, it made good numbers on their birth rate, LOL! I guess the French part was dropped almost immediately and when he went back to France nobody guessed on his birth certificate there was a “Franco-Italian” nationality…

Anyway, that was almost 41 years ago! As the Lefty’s day is on Monday, where I already have a Happiness is, I’ll wish all the lefties of the world a happy World Left-Hander Day today – including to my evergreen Muse. And look, I even managed to find a picture I hadn’t already drawn!

But then I ran out again (I have 270+ files in my Keanu-drawings folder… that’s 11 years of drawings! ;)), so I procrastinated with more drawings of his “rival”… It’s not that I need to draw a new face, it’s that I can’t find new pictures of Da Muse to draw! While the other folder is brand new… and next drawing is of another face anyway – I might end up with a Bollymales calendar next year, LOL!

Hritik – black pencils on yellow sheet

Well if I keep going at this rate, I can have a Hritik Calendar and a Keanu Calendar… we’ll see! I have only 8 programmed, but then I can reach 13 drawings – includes the calendar’s cover – by the end of the year… No drawings this weekend, though, I got a story to write, tsk! Not much time left before I leave, so… stop procrastinating, Barb!

Ahem… I actually finished that story, so I’m free to procrastinate and draw some more – although my dear reader of SKYBAND would probably prefer me to start working on the next chapter… where I’m also using one of these new faces, so I might consider it, LOL! Next pencil drawing on the list is Arjun Rampal, though. And now that I think about it, chapter 12 of SKYBAND is very interesting to draw – especially the cover, so I might do that as well! ;)

See, I’m might not be a lefty, but I’m not normal either (like I mentioned in the comments to Shafali’s post). I stopped trying to be normal in my thirties, when I realized it was futile and hurt me more than anything else. So there you have me, the outsider who watches you with mild curiosity and some puzzlement and doesn’t care if she’s outcast – I’ve found my place outside of normality! ;)

What is normal anyway? Being like everybody else? Sorry, I’m too creative to fit in a mold. And I’m everchanging, like a chameleon. Hence the pseudonyms, the different creative endeavors, etc. And to preserve the uniqueness, I’d rather not join the breeding factory! VHEMT, remember? ;)

Have a great weekend, and if you’re a lefty, a World Left-hander Day on Monday 13! :D

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. katyasozaeva

     /  10/08/2012

    My Dad is naturally left-handed, although at the time they were forcing children to use their right hands, so he is functionally ambidextrous. I’m right-handed, but strangely enough, there are certain things I do with my left hand – I’m more comfortable shaking hands with my left hand, for instance, and shooting pool. I had to deliberately re-teach myself to shoot pool right-handed, because I had originally taught myself to do it left-handed!

    When I was in late grade school and on into junior high, I had a lot of trouble with my wrist, and writing was very painful, so I taught myself how to write with my left hand – well, SORT of, anyway… I couldn’t do it normally fast enough, but I figured out that if I wrote backwards I could go pretty quickly… then I just had to teach myself how to read the backwards writing, or go use a mirror to read it… :-)

    And being normal is boring… I figured that out when I was 8. I was watching everyone scrambling around, trying to be cool, do things to attract the cool kids, and I just shook my head and thought “this is nonsense, who cares?” and that was my mantra for the rest of my school days.

    Maybe that explains why I didn’t have many friends … :-O Heh.

    • Heh! :D
      I didn’t have many friends either – too much moving around, and I was always the foreigner (yeah, even when we got back to Italy, I still felt a foreigner). My “oldest” friend dates from high school…
      Anyway, here’s to friends – lefties, ambidextrous or whatever! ;)

  2. Love the VHEMT mention. Watching the presidential debate now realizing the positive effect this line of thought would have on so many of these issues.

    • I AM vehement about voluntary human extinction! ;)
      Close the breeding factories, especially in this economy! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 672 other followers

