Writer Wisdom Sunday


Every Sunday until December and unless I have a guest, I will share words of wisdom from writers on writing. Enjoy!

For children, if I want to send a decrepit starship full of witches to a quasi-monastery in another adjacent universe, no one turns a hair. But adults are handicapped by terminal assumptions about what goes with which genre. If they think I am writing fantasy, then my belligerent witches must go on a Quest armed only with swords and spells and either on foot or horseback; and if what I am doing is to be science fiction, no one aboard my starship is allowed magic, but only scientific principles not altogether yet proven, such as an ability to travel faster than light.
– Diana Wynne Jones

With so many people writing books these days, it may seem we’re competing against each other. I’ve learned that we are not. It’s nothing of the sort. I’ve also learned how important it is to support each other and pay it forward when you can. Karma does exist in this writing world!
– Michelle Davidson Argyle (author and blogger)

I’ve always been very entrepreneurially-minded (if that’s even a word.) I was raised by entrepreneurs and never flourished working for other people. I like to be in charge of what I’m doing. Not only is it nice to work the hours I want to work, in the location I want to work, but when it comes to writing, it’s MY stuff. I want creative control. If I’m going to work for months to create something, I’m not having someone’s marketing department swoop in and ask me to make changes they think (without demographics studies), will ‘sell better’. I’m also not willing to let them give me a stupid cover that has nothing to do with the book, a lame, gimmicky title, and then not really market it.
– Zoe Winters

It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation.
– Herman Melville

Every novel is an original, every story is imbued with an atmosphere, and every genre has a distinctive tone. The worst possible case occurs when a novel has none of these qualities.
– Elizabeth Lyon, Manuscript Makeover

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

