Book review – Cowgirl dreams by Heidi M.Thomas


I won this book on Blog Jog Day, so I must thank Carol Denbow for organizing that event. It allowed me to discover plenty of interesting blogs AND allowed me to win something – and trust me, that’s not something that happened often in my life!

Even if I hadn’t won it, I had already put Cowgirl Dreams on the to-buy list, as I was intrigued by this story inspired by the author’s grandmother – although if it were on the to-buy list, I wouldn’t have been able to read it now, i.e. at the right time (but I probably would have loved it anyway! ;-))

I’m not American and always had a preference for Indians against cowboys, but this is the story of a cowgirl. Add to that I have just visited Montana (a month ago), met a true Montana gentleman (his lands have been in his family since the late 1800s, and he had to give up some for a Cheyenne reservation) and watched wild mustangs, so it was almost like being on vacation again.

This story is engrossing, funny and tragic like real fife. I rooted for the 1902s cowgirl coming of age, who only wanted to ride and be a rodeo queen even if I’m a city girl who never mounted a horse in her life. I still could relate to her dream, held my breath at her decisions and mistakes and everything life in a tougher century (especially for women) brought her. I’ll admit tears came to my eyes ere and there as well.

I recommend this book to anyone (male or female), especially young people with a dream of any sort. Enjoy the happy ending of this reality-based fairy tale and Heidi M.Thomas’s great writing style – this lady can definitely tell a good story, I should take lessons from her! She was kind enough to answer some of my questions, so you’ll read her interview next week on this very same blog, so don’t forget to come back.

I thank her again for sending me her book, allowing me to explore and discover another world – another country, another time, another culture, another genre of book I would have never thought of, hadn’t I stumbled on her blog on that May day…

Previous Post
Next Post

3 Comments

  1. Thank you, Barbara, for your kind and positive words! I’m so happy you enjoyed the book and that you were able to visit the great state of Montana! That will always be “home” to me.

    Heidi

  2. looking forward to next book (hoping in the meantime the to-read pile goes down a little…)! :-)

  1. Authors on this blog « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers

